Chocolate Zucchini Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 butler for the oil. I also used 1/2 c brown sugar and only 1 c cane sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Excellent as written! This time I had a bunch of rhubarb in my garden, thought "why not?". I used 3 cups of rhubarb finely chopped in my food processor, let it sit with 2 small boxes of cherry jello mixed in, for about 5 minutes. Added 1 cup of plain yogurt (the rhubarb didn't seem as 'wet' as the zucchini did). Followed the rest of the recipe. OMG!!! Chocolate cherry bread!!! My rhubarb hating boyfriend and son have no idea there's rhubarb in it. I'm not telling them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Excellent quick bread! Nice and chocolatey, and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Great recipe! My 8 year old daughter made this and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CVD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Loved this recipe! I did as BASSANGEL suggested and cut the sugar to 1&1/2 cups, used half wheat, and half white flour, and applesauce for half the oil. Also used mini-chocolate chips. The second time I made it I had semi-sweet baking squares on hand so used those instead of the unsweetened chocolate. Both ways are delicious though my sweet tooth preferred the semi-sweet way. Would definitely not recommend the full amount of sugar with the semi-sweet chocolate though. It's not even needed when using the unsweetened chocolate. Both times I've made this, I have had 4 cups of shredded zucchini so made double batches. I got three small loaves and 4 mini-loaves out of it. My only issue is the bread sticking to the pans when removing it. Will grease the pans myself next time and not let the kids do it. Maybe that will help. P.S. the kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This bread was a success at my house. It turned out to be moist and chocolatey. My daughter and her friend, who apparently hates everything, couldn't stop eating it. Although I normally follow a recipe exactly as written on the first try, I couldn't bring myself to add 2 full cups of sugar and reduced the amount to just over 1 cup. The result was still a very sweet bread and I could probably reduce the amount even more. Two cups would have been way too much and made it overly sweet, which is the reason for 4 stars instead of 5. The semi sweet chocolate chips add more than enough sweetness to justify reducing the sugar. Also, it only took 55 minutes cooking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
WOW, I just made theses and they are AMAZING. I am usually pretty sceptical about ratings on these type of things, but holy cow, they are all correct. I made a few of the adjustments like others suggested for my first try. I switched out the oil for apple sauce, but I was just a tiny bit short of 1 cup apple sauce, so I just topped it up with oil and only used 1 cup sugar and 4 Tbs of cocoa instead of the choc. I also added some walnuts. These are soooooo moist and tender. Have already printed it to save and on my way out for mor apple sauce to make a few more batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Yum!!! I made exactly as recipe called for. 2nd time I'm making it this week. Plenty of zucchini from the garden to use up. I will be taking these 2 loaves to work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
very good recipe,delicious and moist!!! Cut little bit on sugar, add 1 cup of sour cream, rest of follow the recipe, turn out delicious!!!! Glad, that choose this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was deliciously chocolatey, wonderfully moist. The cinnamon was a great addition. I accidentally used best for bread flour but it didn't have any negative effect. This is a wonderful treat! thanks for the recipe Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States