Chocolate Zucchini Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I made this as muffins and they were beautiful, moist, and delicious! I substituted whole wheat flour for all of the white flour, unsweetened applesauce for 3/4 cup of the oil, and coconut oil for the remaining 1/4 cup vegetable oil. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and they were plenty sweet enough. I also added 3 Tbsp cocoa because they were just a little less chocolaty than we'd like. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This is really delicious. I made a few changes. I used 1 C sugar, 1 C applesauce NO oil. I used cocoa (3T + 1T butter). I made 4 mini loaves and baked them for 30 min on bottom shelf 15 min on top shelf. It is so moist my husband took some in to work and sold them for $4 a loaf. In one loaf I added dark chocolate chips and a handful of raspberries, haven't tried that one yet but I am sure it will be good. This is a super moist recipe I really love it I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wcfujita

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I loved this recipe. I did substitute whole wheat flour for the all-purpose, but I thought it was completely scrumptious! Will definitely make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I make this recipe as written every year when zucchini is in season. My only change is to make 24 muffins and use the rest of the batter for one mini loaf. I bake muffins for 25 minutes and the mini-loaf for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This is the first zucchini bread I have found that I like.. most likely because it's super unhealthy. But it is a tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Delicious BUT both loaves stuck to the bottom of professional baking pans even after I read another review about extra grease (I used Crisco). I even ran a knife along the sides. The first loaf fell out in two pieces with 1/3 stuck to the bottom. On the second loaf, I ran a pancake turner underneath and got most out. I will make this again but I'll line the pans with quick release foil. NOTE: I used semisweet chocolate since that is what I had on hand. The bread reminds me of a moist brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
In looking for a chocolate chip zucchini bread I picked this because it has the most star rating and many more reviews than the other bread recipes. I am not disappointed. I did do a few modifications simply due to not having the squares of unsweetened chocolate. I used about half regular baking cocoa and half dutch processed cocoa (as I didn't have enough regular). I didn't add the oil typically needed when using cocoa powder instead of squares. I also went a bit shallow on the oil as I thought a cup too much with the moisture the zucchini will create. Next time I will decrease the oil to probably 3/4 cups. With the dutch cocoa this ranks right up there with Starbucks chocolate cinnamon bread!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is so delicious!! I substituted cocoa powder for the chocolate chips. This bread is moist, rich, and can be eaten plain or with some strawberries and whipped cream. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Upon reading other reviews...I used half oil and half applesauce, cut down sugar slightly, used half whole wheat flour, increased the amount of zucchini slightly and used mini choco-chips. Used mini loaf pans, so the baking tie was decreased. All three kiddos under the age 7 loved it and the hubby loved it too! A "dessert" I feel better about serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Everyone love this recipe...we can't wait for our garden to start growing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga Chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States