Chocolate Yule Log Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by *Cozycook*
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
When this actually comes out looking the way it's supposed to..it's beautiful! And the quality of the taste is amazing-so rich. The filling is my favorite and can be used on any cake as well. love love love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cozycook*

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by yeels
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Quite an easy recipe to work with. I find that the icing is really really sweet but I guess that's how dessert it supposed to be. It tasted really yummy and my friends really enjoyed eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Oh wow. Wow. Takes some time but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spudjnr123
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This cake came out fantastically. I made some minor tweaks to the recipe in the flavor department, (I didn't use coffee, just a regular light chocolate ganache, and the top frosting was a dark chocolate ganache. The cake rolled very easily, perfect texture. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I first made this yule log for a Christmas 2010 party and it was a huge hit! I think the mocha filling is what makes this recipe special. I love the sponge cake. My best friend tells me to this day that this is the best dessert she has ever eaten! I made marzipan mushrooms ahead of time for decoration and sprinkled the finished cake with powdered sugar to look like snow. This recipe is now in my treasured Christmas file and I hope to make it every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jersey Tomato

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Titusville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Perfection! It looked like it came from a patisserie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Perfect recipe! !!! I had no problems with this. Everything came out as it should. Only thing i changed was i used Mocha flavor gel instead of coffee granules. The other reviews that said they had problems our" powder" results i don't understand how, cause mine did not come out like that. This could be in 5 star restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westover, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Loved the look and taste of this. Even though the cake cracked as I rolled it, the frosting hid it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious!!! This will become a tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent! I opted to not use the Mocha Buttercream Frosting and went with a basic ganache, but the rest of the recipe was outstanding! Rave reviews from the Christmas dinner crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States