Chocolate Wave Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This recipe was easy and tasty. My 6 year old son who is very fussy, loved it. This is one of the few ways to get any veggies into him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I've made this twice now, and wouldn't change a thing (other than leaving out the nuts, since I'm not a fan). Whoever said it was too much chocolate was crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiefan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
We love this recipe. I substitute the oil with applesauce, to make it a little healthier. I double the chocolate and make it all chocolate, it's better than brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Reichhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Mmmm good. My family was scared when I said I was making zucchini bread but then they couldn't stop eating it after it came out of the oven! Moist, chocolaty and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Yummy! Some of it stuck in the pan, but that's all my fault. Next time I'll make sure I do a better job greasing the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was so moist, and incredible tasting! Even my husband (who said zucchini BREAD????!!!??) loved it! I also put the chocolate chips in the white layer. I think next time I make this I will try the chocolate layer on the bottom....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma Lo
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I really wish I could give this recipe 4.5 stars. I used applesauce and fat-free sour cream in place of the shortening to cut out some of the fat, and I substiuted some of the sugar with honey, but I forgot to put a little (more) baking soda in it to neutralize the bitterness, so the bread had a bit of a funny aftertaste. But it was still delicious. I didn't halve the batter accurately, so I ended up with more chocolate dough than regular dough. I layered the two mixtured, which was quite attractive in the final presentation. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This was good, had good flavor, but my husband kept saying the chocolate layer was too dry, said the texture was too much like cocoa powder. Maybe I didn't split the batter evenly? It was good and I might make this again, but I'll probably continue looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
YUM. Gotta love using veggies to make something sweet and delicious! Being a dietitian, I can never leave a recipe alone...so here are my modifications: canola oil for shortening; decreased sugar to 3/4 cup; used 1/2c AP flour, 1/2+1/3c WW flour, and 1/3c oats; for spices used 3/4t cinnamon, 1/8t cloves and 1/8t nutmeg; mixed pecans and walnuts together and toasted them; and finally...flax paste for eggs (for EACH egg, mix 1T ground flaxseed plur 3T water in a saucepan and boil until gooey, eggy consistency...then mix into batter like you would the eggs). Just need a little extra baking powder (heaping spoon). Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I did the recipe a little bit differently. I added 1/2 cup regular, sweetened applesauce instead of the shortening. I also added half white and half whole wheat flour. (I added more applesauce because of the whole wheat flour. I also added a little more water.)Then, I made them into muffins. I filled the muffin holders first with the regular batter and then with the chocolately batter. They take about 9-12 minutes, depending on how full you fill them. I ended up with 19 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Pluckebaum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States