Chocolate Wave Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This turned out really nice looking. It was very moist and I really liked the chocolate part. I did use butter instead of shortening because I don't like using shortening. I decreased the sugar to 1 cup and I was out of pumpkin pie spice so I used 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. I also omitted the walnuts but added some chopped pecans to the plain half. I think next time I will leave out the nuts all together and forget about the spice, so it's more of a chocolate/vanilla type of thing. But I'm not huge spice lover so there you go. This is a very good zucchini bread though and I'll probably be using this recipe anytime I have some zucchini to use up! *UPDATE* Ok, I've been eating this all week at this is a seroiusly good zucchini bread! I really like it! Now I think the spice is fine, but I will still leave out the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My first experience with zucchini in baked goods and it was delicious with a great moist texture. I decided to put the chocolate chips into the lighter bottom half of the loaf so that I could have chocolate in every bite - but beware to let the loaf cool completely before turning it out because the melted chocolate chips made the bottom split. (still tastes good, though). I made two loaves - one regular and one vegan. I only changed the second by replacing the eggs with 1/4 cup oil and 1/3 cup cooked tapioca, and I got some vegan chocolate chips. This didn't yield as fluffy a loaf, but I liked the denser one just as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I don't know what happened. It probably had a lot to do with using applesauce and Splenda - I don't usually have much luck in decreasing the fat content with these two ingredients. I know one thing... I used the last of the Splenda and I'll never buy it again. So unfortunate, as this looked so nice and sounded so yummy. I also didn't like the chocolate chips in the chocolate batter, for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Very good recipe! The chocolate portion o the bread is rich and moist while the zucchini part is nicely spiced. Great blend and fun to serve in slices at functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This zucchini bread is awesome! My husband and my son loved it and so did everyone else. Instead of doing the wave effect, I alternated the chocolate batter with the plain batter and made a nice-looking marbel effect. It looked great and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Very good recipe. I didn't do the wave. I just mixed everything together to get a chocolate loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Great use of extra zucchini. The chocolate makes it super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
this was okay, there is a better one on this site. thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is fabulous!! I made it for my husband, and then added it to my special desserts for my father in law who is a chocaholic!. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great, will make many times again! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This was just mediocre. I added more cocoa than what was called for and it still wasn't really chocolatey. Maybe the flavor would have been improved if butter was used instead of shortening? This gave me 12 muffins and a small loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States