Chocolate Walnut Strudel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I would give this six stars if I could! It was simple to make, impressive to serve, and scrumptious to eat. Ingredients easy to find, directions easy to follow. I even made it at my house and drove it across town and put it in the oven there. Everyone loved it, including some very good cooks. It made 6 big servings, could easily make 8, or even 10 if following a heavy meal. I used a serrated knife in a sawing motion to cut the strudel, and it stayed intact instead of squashing. The only thing I did differently was to add a little sugar, because the "bittersweet" 60% chocolate I bought was more bitter than sweet. So I sprinkled on about 3 Tbsp powdered sugar after I spread the chocolate on the pastry dough, just before the nuts. Then it was just right for eaters aged 14 to 70 on New Year's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was awesome! I did not need to cook it nearly as long as suggested, so mine came out a little too crisp but everyone loved it. Next time I will just put it in for less time or add foil to the top so it doesn't get too crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Easy and a great hit at quilt away weekend 2008
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Yum! I served this for a luncheon with friends. I wish I would have made two. One comment was that it tasted like fudge wrapped in pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This turned out as it says it will. It was well received by my husband and daughter, but my son and I didn't care for it. It is extremely fudgy, and you almost can't taste the dough at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This was very easy to make and took no time at all. I doubled the walnuts and was glad I did. This was very ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael's Nona
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Very easy recipe, easy to make, I liked it just okay because I thought it was a bit too messy. If I try it again I will use less chocolate to see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I gave it 4 stars even though mine didn't come out that great. It tasted good but, I melted my chocolate too much so it melted the dough a little. only melt chocolate slightly and mix till it's gooey. roll it out on the the tray you'll use in the oven b/c transferring it while rolled is a bit tricky. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States