Chocolate Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I changed this recipe and it turned out great. I was just playing around and lucked out. I only used 1/3 cup karo. I added 1/3 cup coffee liquor. Since the quanity of the filling is reduced I should have used a regular pie shell instead of deep dish. Also much better flavor on day 2. This one is a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This pie was great! Mine turned out interesting because the chocolate rose to the top, and the caramely filling sunk to the bottom making it half of each, which was great actually! We used pecans instead of walnuts, but I think walnuts would be appropriate because it ends up tasting like a brownie on top, and pecan pie-filling on the bottom. Very rich, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
While this pie was delicious, I didn't realize I was essentially making pecan pie until it came out. I guess the "move over pecans" description should have clued me in. I served this pie with cool whip topping and got many compliments. Very rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
chocolatey, but not a hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I made this in a 10" springpan with nut crust, cooked 35mins - turned out very yummy. Next time I might add more chocolate :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
Oh yeah, these are good. I made small ones in a muffin pan and baked them only for 25 minutes. I should have made a double batch, because when they were gone, people still wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
We used this recipe for our family Christmas potluck. It was a hit with those that love pecan pie or fudge. I had to substitute unsweetened chocolate for the semi-sweet chocolate and increase the amount of sugar, but it was great. Half of a normal piece of pie was just the right size -- it was very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
Wow! I made this for Christmas...soooo tasty. I really love walnuts, so I added 2 cups of walnut halves (not chopped). Pie was heavenly, and everyone commented on how it had the consistency of pecan pie without being sickeningly sweet. Definitely better when warmed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
We served this with the traditional pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving and it went over real well!!! The kids loved it with a little of the spiced topping while the adults loved it with a lot of spiced topping. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States