Chocolate Walnut Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is a great recipe, and I've only made fudge maybe twice. I took someone's advice and let the cut up marshmallows melt before I started the timer for boiling. I wanted to mail the fudge, so I added twice the amount of choc chips, as the first batch was creamy and delicious but I was afraid if it sat in the sun during transport to Mississippi, it might be too soft. The extra chips made it quite firm but it was still nice and creamy. If you make it with extra chips, it won't take as much beating. I noticed it was getting ready to pour in the pan at about 3-3 1/2 mins. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bingen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Made a batch of this for a friend, who couldn't stop eating it! Took awhile to get to the right consistency, but it was worth it in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I may have stumbled upon the problem some people are having with this recipe. It's the amount of evaporated milk. When a recipe says "one can" I usually just go with what seems to me to be a standard sized can. But before I poured it in the saucepan this time, I checked the ounces. Whaddya know? To me, a can of evaporated milk is 12 ounces. But this recipe only calls for a 5 ounce can. So be sure to check the size of your milk can! I personally LOVE the fudge you make from the recipe on the back of the marshmallow cream jars. But the cream contains eggs and my son is allergic. (Marshmallows themselves usually do not -- weird, huh?) Anyway, this reciped turned out better than any other non-marshmallow cream variety I've tried. It's creamy, sets up well and tastes nice and yummy. (With all that butter and sugar it ought to!) A quibble is that to my eye it never really lost its gloss. But I quit beating after several minutes anyway and it turned out fine. No nuts for us due to allergy issues as well -- that can be a problem with some fudge recipes I've tried but not this one! Try this an be diligent about the milk measurement and you'll be pleased. And of course, as with anything with milk and this much sugar, forget the directions to stir "frequently" during the heat-up stage and just plan on stirring constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
To sweet and would never harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elizabethton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I followed this recipe to a T and it did not work at all. The mixture never really thickened and didn't lose its gloss even after 30 minutes of beating it by mixer. Its been in ther freezer for 2 days and its still wants to be "runny". I don't know what I did wrong but I'm dissappointed because I really wanted this fudge to work. O Well, if anyone knows the fix let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This fudge turned out perfect. It was well worth the bit of time it took to boil the mixture . One thing I found was; even with constant stirring on the heat, I still scorched it somewhat. You really need to be careful with that. The beating was a little exhausting ,but the fudge was so delicious, creamy consistency, and set up so beautifully. Thanks so much Amber, for submitting this great fudge recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Mine didnt set up, but it was still really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This was a good tasting batch of fudge. I'll have to warn people going to make this, to use a big pot; it boils and doubles in size. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but mine keeps turning out soft. Maybe I'm not beating it long enough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
So yummy! We ate way too much of this! Use a bigger saucepan than you think you'll need, because it just about doubles in size as it cooks and you don't want any boil-over accidents. I lined my pan with foil too so I can just lift the whole thing up, peel the foil off and cut it up on a cutting board. When it says to beat until it "loses its gloss" I thought I hadn't done it long enough (it was still a little glossy), but it set up perfectly. I love the crunch walnuts add to this. ******UPDATE: Made this again 12/20/5 with orange extract instead of vanilla, kept everything else the same. It was SO GOOD! Try it this way, or use your favorite flavor. (Kept the amount of extract the same, using "real", not artificial, orange flavoring).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Good recipe. My husband did not want to share this with others, he said it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nay nay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States