Chocolate Walnut Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe has a great texture. I boiled it till soft-ball stage - 234 degrees, and it firmed perfectly. I chose this recipe because I could easily change it to meet my daughter's food intolerance. I used 2 tablespooons ghee, a pinch of salt, and 6 tablespoons palm shortening in place of the butter, and heavy whipping cream in place of the evaporated milk. That said, the flavor was lacking a bit - next time I will add more chocolate somehow - either with cocoa powder at some point, or more chocolate chips. It would be an understatement to say my daughter was thrilled with the fudge. I think she would give it 5 stars, but she's been fudge-deprived for 3 years now, so I think ANY fudge would get 5 stars from her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I used marshmallow cream instead of marshmallows and it was great! best recipe i have tried yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
THIS IS THE BEST FUDGE IN THE WHOLE ENTIRE WORLD!!!!!! For my younger sisters bday, she wanted me to make my "famous fudge." Truth be told, i had NO idea what she was talking about!! It had been years sense i made fudge, and i had kept changing recipes. I quickly jumped on AllRecipes, like i always do, and found this fudge recipe. This is now my "famous fudge recipe." It is so good and easy. I didn't have large marshmallows, so used 2 cups of mini's. I actually only used about 1 1/4-1 1/2 cups sugar (mostly because i ran out), and it turned out WONDERFULL!!!! Make sure to only use a 5 ounce can of milk otherwise it WILL NOT work (obviously.) I beat it for, um, maybe 4-5 minutes and it was beautiful. I lined a pan with foil, to make it easier, and only refrigerated it for about 1-1/2 hours and then am having it just sit on the counter, because we like soft fudge. I have a dairy allergy, so didn't try any (ok, ok, maybe i tried just a teeny-weeny bit), but everyone else says its good, and it turly is. Seriously, make this fudge recipe and you won't try another!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
A nice recipe that is close to the one I have used for years with same results. NO nuts for me this time as they are going to be used for gifts who dont like nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My recipe I added a little more chips and then it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Awesome, easy and delicious. I'm no expert but I got a great texture. Didn't trust the 6 minutes cook time. I used a candy thermometer like my mom taught me but it actually turned out to be about 6 minutes anyways. Thanks for a great treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is my go to - never fail recipe for fudge. I always use 2/3 cup of evaporated milk and 12 large marshmallows. Over low heat I bring the butter, sugar, and milk to a boil - stirring constantly - when the bubbles cannot be stirred away I start timing for 5 minutes - again stirring constantly. After five minutes, I remove from the heat, add chocolate chips and vanilla, I blend with my portable handheld mixer. Then add nuts and pour into a foil lined and greased 8 x 8 inch dish. Allow to cool, lift foil out and cut into squares. I make a lot of this and give as gifts. Been making for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is "Old Fashioned Fudge" so having said that it is not Fool Proof! The directions say 5-oz can evap. milk so don't mistake that for a regular size can which is what I did... I had to triple my ingredients to make it work! BTW if your making lots changes to this recipe how do you know it really works! Rating 5 stars should be if you followed directions 100% and it worked! As for me, I'll stick with the "Fool Proof" fudge next time. Here's a link on "how to fix your fudge" just in-case you need it! http://candy.about.com/od/fudgecandyrecipes/f/fix_fudge.htm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I just finished making this wonderful fudge! I doubled the recipe, using 1 whole can of evaporated milk (12 oz can) 2 cups ghiardelli bittersweet chips, 2 sticks butter, 2 tsp vanilla, 4 cups mini marshmallows, 4 cups evaporated cain sugar (organic). I used a candy thermometer and cooked the milk marshmallows and sugar on 4.5 heat (setting on electric stovetop) till soft ball stage, I didn't time it, but I know it took quite a bit of time. I stirred with a heat proof rubber spatula slowly the whole time. I then dumped this onto the butter, vanilla and chocolate chips in my kitchen aid mixer. I mixed for atleast 5 min on medium speed. I then dumped into a pan with buttered foil in it. I would say a 10x10 or so would do the trick. It has the best texture of any fudge I have tried. I put walnuts on top of half of the fudge. It looks amazing, Thanks for the recipe. This is the second time I have made fudge and I am sure this will be the main recipe for me! The first fudge I made was a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I made it and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States