Chocolate Walnut Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I made this recipe for my in-laws and everyone seemed to really love it. Even the people that were very particular about thier fudge liked it. The first time I made a few mistakes. I used condensed milk instead of evaporated. The fudge was horrible. It never looked how the directions described it and it tasted like chocolate sugary sand. When I realized the huge error I made the 2nd batch was much better. Another mental note, if you have stainless steel mixing bowls, then you might want to consider using a different bowl. The steel bowls get very hot while mixing the butter and are difficult to hold if you don't have some sort of oven mit handy. We just got a kitchenaid mixer so that might solve my hand burning problem if I misplace my mitts again. I'm a big fan of dark chocolate and I've used Hershey's Dark chocolate chips as well. Everyone seems to like that version just as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Just moved...lost this recipe. It's my favorite. Thanks for posting it. Now, I can make it. It's the best fudge ever. I put frozen Christmas marshmallows in it. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This recipe is great. I live at 6800 feet so making candy is a challenge because water boils at 196 deg F. This turned out wonderful. I used 12 oz milk chocolate chips instead of 1 c semisweet chocolate chips because I prefer the milder flavor. I also prefer pecans to walnuts. The grandkids can hardly leave it alone. I want to try again with butterscotch chips for a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Magdalena, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Very very good! First attempt at making fudge, so I wasn't sure what to expect. This was so very easy to make. After chilling in the fridge for several hours, it was still soft when I cut it. Very creamy too. I put it on my cookie tray, made one batch with walnuts inside and on top, the other with crushed candy canes on top. Went over great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
THIS HAD TO BE THE EASIEST FUDGE EVER. I'VE MADE 7 BATCHES, SUBSTITUTING PISTACHIOS OR ALMONDS AND THEY ALL TURNED OUT FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merced, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Great recipe! I have never made fudge before and decided to try it. I used 1/2 semi sweet and 1/2 milk chocolate chips. I also added crushed walnuts on top before the fudge set. I followed the directions to a T and it came out WONDERFUL! It never really lost the "gloss", so I just stirred until it was all mixed up! It was a hit at work. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JKillin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This fudge is alright.I like my fudge a lot creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Well, I wish I would of had the walnuts, since I had everything else, I didn't bother to run to the store for them. They would of been great. The fudge is still really good!!!! If you use the mini marshmallows just use like 2 cups worth...turned our wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Came out very smooth! Very easy recipe to follow. I love fudge and this was the first time I made it at home, I expected it to come out grainy and falling apart, but it came out awesome. Folllow the directions to a T and you will do fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This had a nice texture and was easy to make - even in a very humid Japanese summer there was no difficulty getting it to set. The first time I made it I used a large bar of milk chocolate and another of dark chocolate, but I found it too bland and sweet. For my second try I used all dark chocolate, of a higher quality than chocolate chips. I also reduced the butter slightly. I liked the second batch better. I still think the flavor needs a bit more 'oomph', maybe orange extract as suggested by another reviewer, or another flavour, would pep it up. A good basic recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States