Chocolate Walnut Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I meant to buy sweetened condensed milk but I bought evaporated milk instead. So, I made this recipe. It turned out very delicious. It was a fairly easy recipe with tastey results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
So easy and it turned out great. Definitely line the bottom of the pan with foil, as one reviewer mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I hadn't made fudge since I was a kid at my Grandma's house. She grew up in a bakery ran by her parents. She always made fudge for Christmas. Long story short this turned out so creamy and delicious, I used Ghiradelli chocolate and oh my! The kids, the husband and the family gobbled it up in no time. It was really easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I liked the soft fudge. I will make it again but leave out the walnuts. I can't chew them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
LOVED this - as did all my family - and it is so easy to make ... if i can make it perfect every time, anyone can. the only thing i changed is to leave it on the stove until it gets to around 220 on the candy thermometer. i found it took about 10 minutes. also, i tripled the recipe, and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These were okay. Texturally, they came out fine with no problems reported by other reviewers - 5 oz evaporated milk worked fine, and instead of taking the milk mixture off the heat at 6 minutes, I used a candy thermometer and waited until the temp had reached about 235 - if some people turn the heat down low and take it off just at 6 minutes, it may not be up to temperature, which may account for the fudge not coming together. The milk mixture was difficult to cook using a stainless steel pot - it really wanted to burn on the bottom, so I had to stir really vigorously for the 7-8 minutes I was cooking it. It still burnt slightly, although could not taste it in the end result. Used semi sweet baking chocolate and bittersweet couverture chocolate rather than chocolate chips. With a Kitchen-Aid mixer, the fudge lost its gloss really quickly (within a minute or two), which confused me since someone here had said it took longer than expected... so I kept going and probably overbeat it. Flavor turned out pretty bland, albeit rich and dense. It really needs a flavor punch somehow, and I'm not sure what would work - more vanilla? A bit of salt (since I used unsalted butter)? Will try other recipes - I'm spoiled on a childhood of boiled fudge with heavy cream that is kneaded as it cools - now THAT's the good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is great! I followed the recipe exactly (minus the nuts) and I added a tsp of cinnamon and it's SO yummy and the perfect texture. I will use this recipe as a base for other flavors since it's so easy (no taking the temperature and evaporated milk is much cheaper than sweetened condensed milk!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
If using a different size can of milk, 5oz is about 1/2c plus 2T. This recipe is easy, and makes creamy, sweet fudge. I wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Washington, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
came out runny had no idea why !!! still tasted wonderful tho my kids ate up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
This fudge is so creamy and delicious!!! Thank you, I will use this recipe again and again! ( I used milk chocolate, rather then semi-sweet). It was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwmn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States