Chocolate Walnut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
This was incredibly easy to make although I needed about 25-30 minutes in the oven for the chocolate to set fully. They are delicious straight from the fridge and VERY chocolatey!!!. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
Not what I expected, but not a disappointment. Not too much chocolate. Very easy bar recipe to follow. I would try another "bar" recipe, if it was as easy to follow as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I made these bars and took some to the office and some to my son's home. Everyone including me love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Don't make these if you would rather not eat the whole pan at once, because you won't be able to stop yourself! They are SO GOOD!!!!! Don't worry if the batter doesn't mix perfectly (I had a lot of little bits of butter that wouldn't mix in). They will turn out very tasty anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
These are fabulous - like an English Toffee bar. I used Pecans instead of walnuts and substituted 1/4 cup wheat flour for the white. Yummy right from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diabetic Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
IMO, just an average bar. The chocolate part was very, very thin and runny before baking. Also watch the crust while baking, at 20 minutes mine was slightly overcooked. I didn't cut until the next morning (and it was difficult to cut) because the crust was hard, even after sitting for 15 minutes. I don't think I will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I was skeptical while I was making these. The chocolate batter was runny and I didn't think it had set up well. Once they cooled a bit I stuck them in the fridge and I pressed a slivered almond on the top of each bar. They are quite small but so rich and delicious you wouldn't want them any bigger. Great flavor and so easy to make. This one a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Hmmm, the topping is brownie-esque, the crust is great. i was hoping for more of a smooth, less cakey topping but nonetheless it is good. Instead of the powdered sugar I topped it with more chopped walnuts. Only gets 4 stars because it is not quite what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was a really tasty and easy recipe. The walnut crust was delicious and not too sweet. The chocolate was soft and rich. The combination worked out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
The crust was really good, but I expected much more chocolate. I would double the chocolate part in the same sized pan. The chocolate part was a little too moist (maybe because the last egg I cracked, two yolks fell out!), but I suggest maybe a little flour in there to make it more of a brownie consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Bowden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States