Chocolate Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Jesus I made to many waffles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
After reading a few of the reviews, I upped the amount of chocolate chips to two cups and used three whole eggs. The batter was really thick, and I was worried at first, but they came out just fine. The consistency wasn't crumbly; although, they did break apart at the seams a lot of the time. Anyhoo, the kids loved them, and they didn't hurt my feelings any either. I also used one of the marshmallow cream recipes (I think the one that says it's for ice cream) for an all-out sugar rush, and it really added some additional flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmmandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
The nutella hazeal nut spread is very good too if you have no chocolate chips :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anmlnut
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Good recipe. As the other reviews commented on, I used 1/2 cup oil in place of butter but next time I'll use 3/4 cup as the batter was too thick. I also used 1 tbsp of coco to add more chocolate, it was just enough chocolate for me for breakfast. I had chocolate milk in the fridge so I used that as well. Yummy. Kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Made this recipe when staying at a friends house for a week so we had something for breakfast each day - we loved them - used 4 egg whites instead of 6 and added a tablespoon of cinnamon and made cakey, delicious waffles that filled you up easily (like 1 and a half and we were full, and the recipe made 16). Goes great with a strawberry or blueberry compote on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! I used 3 whole eggs instead of egg whites and substituted a quarter cup of the chocolate chips with cocoa powder because it's what I had. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I'm glad I tried this, but I don't know if I'll make them again. The taste reminded me of brownies, which I like. It was tricky to find the right temperature for cooking these. No matter what setting I tried, they came out on the soft side, so I don't think they'd ever be a crispy waffle. I prefer them not to be crispy anyway. I'd recommend them with whipped cream. Traditional syrup loses its flavor when it competes with the chocolate. Unfortunately, my husband proclaimed himself to be a purist and wasn't very excited about trying this, and I wish I had known that first. He ate it and said he liked it, but some people just don't appreciate creative cooking. The recipe is quite generous. My husband and I made 3 waffles in the Waring Pro and had most of the batter left over. If I make it again, I will scale it to 4-5 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
mmmm mmmmm good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remmy3030

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Not a bad recipe at all. The chocolate is very subtle and very light. If you want more chocolate flavor maybe add more chips or cocoa powder. I used quinoa flour instead of regular and it adds a light nutty flavor. I also used 3 eggs instead of 6 egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndfascia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
wow these were great!! putting cream/whipped cream on them helps make them more moist. this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States