Chocolate Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
not a very good tasteing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This recipe is not too rich, but it is good for putting toppings on and not suffering from overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
That is alot baking pwdr! I only used one tsp. Also, didn't want to separate all those eggs, so I used the whole eggs and only 3 of them. Also, put a pkg. of hot choc. mix in to add more flavor. Were ok, not sure if I would make them again. Ate with lots of whipped cream. Watching my salt intake so only used 1/4 tsp. of salt. I was complaining the other day about people changing up the recipe and then giving a bad rating, so I will give this one 4 stars since I did make some changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I added 4 tablespoons of Frye's Cocoa, 1 well ripened banana, some cinnamon... and it turned out AMAZING. My family raved about the recipe. It's a subtle chocolatey flavor so if you want it more chocolatey, add more chocolate chips! It was good even a day later... resembled chocolate cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xtasia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I changed the butter to 1/2 cup oil. It worked! These taste great. I suggest that you wait a while after they're done to take them out of the waffle iron because they tend to not stay together. Maybe if I set them on medium dark instead of medium they'd come out easier? We'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I love chocolate and the recipe did not make the batter smell or taste very chocolate-y, so What I did was I took an additional cup of the chocolate chips and 1/2 a cup of whipped cream and melted them together. It formed a very rich chocolate mix to add to the batter. The taste was incredible, but the next time I make these waffles I will add some oil to the batter, the waffles crumble slightly, and I want it all together. As toppings I treated the waffle like it was desert, sliced strawberries, whipped cream, butterscotch topping and chopped pecans. It was for a girls night in and my friends loved them. We all ate too much! They pair well with a nice blush wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
We liked this recipe. I used 3 whole eggs instead of the 6 egg whites, just didn't want to waste a bunch of eggs. The waffles turned out very nice. We topped them with whipped cream and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made this for Valentine's Day breakfast w/ my heart-shaped waffle maker, just perfect! Nice and fluffy with a light chocolate taste. I served with butter, powdered sugar and the raspberry sauce recipe on here. So very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
My kids love chocolate chip pancakes so I thought this would be a good change. However, we did not care for them. They did not have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
wow these were great!! putting cream/whipped cream on them helps make them more moist. this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States