Chocolate Waffles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
We have updated this recipe to include all the ingredients in the directions. Hopefully it makes sense now! - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
These are delicious, cake-like waffles. They didn't get crisp for me until they cooled off and sat for a few minutes. I substituted 6 tablespoons cocoa and 2 tablespoons oil for the two squares of chocolate since I didn't have any on hand. A great recipe for dessert waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
The sugar and butter listed as ingredients do not appear to have been needed afterall in the recipe. I was looking forward to having these this morning, but was not able to determine at what point I was to have added either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thedailygourmet
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
You know those foods that aren't really good for you but they taste good? This is one of them! These aren't your grandma's waffles! These waffles were SO different I knew I had to try them. I actually used semi sweet mini chocolate chips b/c they would melt quicker. I didn't make any changes to the recipe - but please note they will NOT get crisp from the waffle iron, but once they are plated they will. This recipe has great potential if you're the type to play w/ recipes ;) A quick swap to white chocolate chips, and some fresh raspberries, or if you want 60% cacao chips and mandarin oranges - the combinations are endless :) Thanks to allrecipes for correcting the info ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedailygourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
way to soft of a batter. It's like making a cake in your wafflemaker and is really messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Made them as a special breakfast for the kids. None of them liked the chocolate and begged me to make my regular recipe. I tried one and I have to agree. They are okay but nothing really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I think I changed this recipe so much that it's not the same, but I substituted sour cream for half the butter, used a tbsp of cocoa instead of melting the chocolate, used 1/2 cup of sugar (and should have used less), and ended up using 1 c flour with closer to 3/4 c milk. The result was delicious, but could have been fluffier. I served it with sliced strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
It was great! I used half the butter with better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States