Chocolate Waffles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I added 2 tbsp maca to the recipe along with a tsp of vanilla (didnt make the sauce) and an extra tbsp of cocoa powser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I made this tonight. It was just ok. I followed the recipe exactly, but only made the waffles. I did not make the sauce. Maybe the secret to flavor is in the sauce?. Really, the chocolate taste is lacking. It honestly didn't have much taste at all. However, after topped with cool whip and powdered sugar it tasted pretty good. Also, this is not a flae in the recipe as it most likelya calls for a standard waffle iron, if making belgium waffles it only makes 4-5. I probably would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I judged the waffles by the picture, big mistake. Sure when I made them they looked and smelled fantastic but when you try them....not so appetizing. The waffle tasted strange, it was sweet but in a bad way. So I rated this recipe 2 stars because they tasted like a bad chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
They tasted good. The waffles were a bit too tough for me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Land
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Made a few changes. An additional 1/4 cup milk, 1/2 cup cocoa, reduced sugar to 1/4 cup and added one mashed banana and reduced baking powder to 2 tsp and added 1/2 tsp baking soda. Changed all flour to whole wheat. Served with raspberry syrup and made the icing in the recipe self serve by putting it into a ziploc snack baggy and cutting a tiny hole. Huge hit with the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
they were ok, not very crunchy I added chocolate chips and peanut butter. They need ice cream or fudge sauce (just mix 250mls 1 cup thin cream,1/2 cup brown sugar,2 tbsp golden syrup,20g 1 tbsp butter,200g dark cooking chocolate, 1 tsp vanilla essence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Replaced the milk with soy milk. The result was very heavy until I added an additional 1/4 cup of soy milk to get the consistency right. The taste was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Very good. Followed the recipe exactly. Made 2 batches of waffles in my waffle iron for a total of 8 square waffles / 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
my hubby and 6 year old took one bit and didn't have more. Followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
If you like chocolate and waffles, you will love these! Great with strawberries and the hard sauce is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States