Chocolate Wafer Ice Cream Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Simply delicious! Plus you look like a genious in front of kids! Another great thing about this recipe is you can use this as a starting point and get really creative. I used chocolate wafer cookies and chocolate chip cookies and made some with vanilla ice cream and some with chocolate ice cream. When it comes to rolling the ice cream sandwiches I used all kinds of stuff: mini chocolate chips, mini M&M's, toffee pieces, toasted coconut, choppped peanuts, crushed Oreos....etc. These definitely are a hit and a really cool and tasty treat! Thanks cookin'mama for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
OK, so we didn't quite follow the recipe verbatim! My dear stepdaughter made these using her homemade chocolate chip cookies, Haagen Dazs Dulce de Leche ice cream, and mini-chocolate chips; then we drizzled them with caramel & chocolate syrups, & used one as a birthday cake, as you'll see in the posted photo. It was fun and delicious! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Cookin'mama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I made these for the kids on their last day of school as a treat. I used oreos for theirs and strawberry icecream because it is their favorite. But, I made the hubby and I some using Pecan Sandies, chocolate icecream, and rolling them in crushed chocolate covered expresso beans. WOW they were good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
I used chocolate ice cream and toffee cookies from the bakery. Rolled them in Heath Bar bits. Awesome!! Thank you Cookin'Mama!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I've made these before and find taste tasty but messy, both to make and to eat. I use these thin, flat chocolate wafers, and spread with home made whipped cream (whip a pint of heavy cream with 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tsp vanilla until very stiff.) Then, spread a little on an oblong plate; spread some of the whipped cream on each cookie and (after you have a few together) stand VERTICALLY on the plate. After the whole box of cookies is done, frost the entire "log" with the remaining whipped cream. Cover and refrigerate several hours. After a couple of hours in the 'fridge, the crisp cookies will absorb moisture from the whipped cream and become cake-like. Slice the "log" on the diagonal for a REALLY tasty chocolate/cream dessert. I find this less messy but just as good as the ice cream version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Fun! The combonations you can come up with are endless. Different flavor ice creams, sprinkles, nuts, toffee....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Great - easy recipe that my family and friends love! Easy way to make a tasty portion controlled treat. The longer the chocolate wafer cookies stay in the freezer - the softer they become, almost like traditional ice cream sandwiches. Also - I made this again with chewy chocolate chip cookies - the opposite holds true for the "chewy" store bought cookies - they get harder the longer they are in the freezer - beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Just the ticket for a fun, easy, pretty dessert that everyone enjoyed! I've also used chocolate chip, oatmeal, and plain sugar cookies, dipped in sprinkles of all sorts. They were all great! Thank you for such a fun submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Yummy!! Everyone really liked these. I found the chocolate wafer cookies, no problem. I also did some with chocolate chip cookies. Decorated with mini chips, and rainbow sprinkles. I made these up in advance, wrapped each one in saran and stored in the freezer until dessert time. Thanks for a fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Ok, heads up..DO NOT MAKE THIS IF YOU ARE WORRIED ABOUT YOUR WAISTLINE!! This is a great, versitile recipe. You can use chocolate chip/macadamia nut cookies if you do not like oreos. I have made it with each kind and is as delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Ice Cream

Learn tricks for making perfect homemade pumpkin ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States