Chocolate Wafer Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I used gluten free chocolate cookies and butter. 6T was way too much butter. It didn't pack into the bottom of the spring form like I had anticipated. Hopefully once the butter hardens in the freezer it will not be so gooey. I will try again but add butter until desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Used 18 Oreo cookies that I put through my food processor for a fine crumb. I also only used 3 tablspns of the melted butter which was plenty. Made a 8' crust. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This makes an awesome crust and is very versatile depending on what type of cookie you use. I used homemade chocolate chunk cookie crumbs; ground up in my food processor, and six tablespoons was WAY too much butter. I think it was because of the moisture already in the cookies. On my second batch, I used about 2 1/2 tablespoons and it was perfect! The crust didn't crumble too much and tasted great. It worked in the place of an oreo crust for my pudding pie. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I crushed Oreo cookies with a rolling pin, but they were really chunky. I will use a food procesor next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Simple and successful! Used with the Peanut Butter pie, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I ended up using only about half the butter because I had double-stuffed oreos on hand for the cookie part. I came out excellent, not too rich or hard and it worked great with the peanut butter pie filling I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This tasted good but, I used real butter and they came out extremely greasy--I used cupcake liners, and the pans and the liners were soaked in a puddle of grease. Maybe margarine would have worked better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
this was so easy to make and tasted good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Love this recipe, and it couldn't be simpler. I used chocolate graham crackers because I couldn't find the nabisco chocolate wafers. I added about 1/8 cup of sugar to my crushed grahams before adding the melted butter. I used this as the crusted for a mocha mud pie made with coffee and chocolate ice cream. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TwinsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was a great way for me to use up leftover Christmas cookies. I went a little crazy baking and had way too many goodies leftover, so I groung all the cookies up in my food processor, froze them. When I wanted to make a pie crust, I followed this recipe, using my frozen crumbs. What a snap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States