Chocolate Wafer Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
This makes a really good chocolate crust. Be sure to use the big dark chocolate wafers that are cello-wrapped on top with their bottoms in a yellow box (I think they're Nabisco). They really put this recipe over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I made this with a peanut butter pie. it was perfect. I used reduced-fat nabsico chocolate wafers. Mmmm, so good. I liked the crust better than the pie, and the pie was GOOD. (Note: it's about 50 wafers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
great for cheesecake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
I used chocolate graham crackers and this turned out very good. I decided to bake it (375 for 7 minutes) just to ensure that the crust would stay together since I didn't think refrigeration would hold it together when serving. However, I didn't spray the pie pan, thus the crust stuck to the bottom. I plan to try it again, still baking it, but making sure I prepare the pan before hand so that the crust will come out easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I used Oreos to make this crust. It was quite simple to make--- as easy as buying a crust at the grocery store--- and tasted yummy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This was really tasty, I used the Nabisco chocolate wafers and it turned out great. However, I dropped one star because it sticks alot to thje pie plate, would wokr out better if used in a tin or a disposable pie tin, don't uyse in a deep dish plate like I did. Also, could be improved be a couple of tablespoons of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I cannot find chocolate wafers around here so I also used chocolate graham crackers. I do not bake my crust. I use it for peanut butter pie and it is so yummy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is EXACTLY what I needed for the Creamy Peanut Butter Pie I also found on this site. I didn't want to spend two bucks on a pre-made crumb crust when I could make one at home. I used Mother's Peanut Butter Sandwich cookies for this and ground them in my blender, as I don't have a food processor. Worked like a charm! Only issue I had was when I added the melted butter, it seemed really too wet, so I had to grind up another six cookies to soak up the moisture. Wasn't a huge deal. I stuck this in my freezer for about a half hour to hurry-firm it so I could make the rest of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
If you are using Oreos, it takes about 16 cookies to make 1.5 cups of crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Quick, easy...YUMMY! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

See how to make a delicious glossy glaze for cakes, cookies, and donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States