Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by love2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
this cake was too sweet for me (I rarely eat sweets), but it got raves reviews from co-workers & friends. I added a melted chocolate chip layer on top & drizzled some melted caramels, then sprinkled some pecans - very pretty! make sure there's lots of milk or strong black coffee around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
i used a ready made pie crust to make the recipe even easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
OMG! This got the best reviews of almost anything I've ever made. And that's saying something!! I was putting it out on a holiday buffet dessert table. And I'd forgotten to spray the cheesecake pan and it was totally stuck and not coming loose - no how, no way. So I just put the whole thing on the table with a gigantic spoon for serving. And it still won hands down over all the other tasty desserts available. This is one that will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
The results were delicious, but I think there was something missing, perhaps it was the crust. Instead of the caramel sauce in the recipe, I made my own caramel (no trans anything and no high fructose stuff) which has a richer flavor. I also toasted the pecans on a baking sheet before baking the crust. Other than that, I followed the suggestions of others by using 1.5x the filling (great height!), using more butter in the crust (great flavor and hold) and baking it with the staggered temperatures (no cracks). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerine Demure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was a good cheesecake but it needs some tweaking. I didn't like the consistency of the cheesecake, it was cake-like instead of creamy like cheesecake should be. If I make this again I would change the cheese portion to be creamier like a New York cheesecake and I would use chocolate cookie crumbs for the crust. Be sure to cool the caramel very well before you pour the cheesecake on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Fantastic and sooo yummy!! I used it for a girlfriend's birthday dessert and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I am a beginner baker. I made a new york cheesecake a few days ago and it turned out great and I've been eyeing this recipe and wanted to try it. The prep time was about 45 min. I didn't wait to cool anything. I put it together and baked for 40 min, it was definately long enough. It looked like the layers were mooshed together when I took it out after cooling in the oven. In the morning I drizzled carmel and chocolate on top. Once cut its was absolutely delicious. It is very rich. You would definately get your chocolate fill on 1/16th of a piece. The family can't wait till the next get together when I make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swanton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by R.J.
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Try this just once and you will love it. I make alot of cheesecakes for the family and this one takes the top for most requested. It may take a bit of time to make, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R.J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williston, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Made it for a dinner party and it was the hit of the night. I had several requests for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAVYA29

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This recipe was just wonderful! It is some of the best cheesecake I have EVER tasted and I will make it again. I followed the instructions in previous reviews (cook at 450 for 10 min 250 for 30 and off for one hour; also add 1/2 recipe extra batter) and it was perfect. It really wasn't hard to make, so don't let the word cheesecake stop you from trying out this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States