Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
It was very very good ... I used my own cheesecake filling recipe, and a graham cracker crust instead, so I modified the recipe quite a bit, but the overall idea was perfect and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msawyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was great- I did a chocolate ganache over the top which truly made this just like a turtle candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GessicaAbsi
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Wow, this recipe was good! I followed others reviews and used an oreo crust with 5 TBS of butter. I increased the filling by 50 perecent to make a taller cheesecake. I wish I would have added 1 TBS of flour because the middle was more gooey than I prefer. I toasted pecans for the top, made a ganache, and drizzled it with caramel...YUM! Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jellybean
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Great recipe :) For the crust, I used one box of oreos and 4TB butter and lightly toasted the pecans for more flavor. Reading the reviews, I noticed many people thought the caramel to cheesecake ratio was off, so I made 1 1/2 times the cheesecake filling, and i think that it would have been just fine, if not better with the original amounts. I also baked it for 10 min at 450, 30 at 250, and then turned the oven off and let it sit for another 60 min, and it turned out perfect. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This recipe was a huge success! However I did follow several suggestions from reviews. I added a tbsp of flour to prevent cracking and also did the 450 for ten minutes, 250 for 30 minutes, and oven off for 30 minutes. It came out beautiful. In order to make it as chocolate and as dark as the picture I used more like a cup and a half of the chocolate chips. I put pecans and caramel ice cream topping on the top. Oh and I used chocolate graham cracker crumbs for the crust, more like 5 tbsp of butter, and seemed to only use about 1 cup of the crumbs. Definitely got the brownie points that I needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this in a 10" springform, so I added 1/3 more of the cheesecake filling ingredients and the crust ingredients. I also chose not to melt the chocolate chips, just stirring them in instead. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynna_Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcade, New York, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I didn't have any caramels on hand so I substituted ice cream caramel fudge sauce. Don't do this - it makes it too sticky and difficult to cut. I omitted the pecans. This cheesecake looks very pretty and has a smooth, rich texture. I used swirled caramel in the shape of a spiral on the top. Be sure to bring the cream cheese and eggs to room temperature to prevent your cheesecake from cracking. I would make again if entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
A little 'heavy', but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Made this several times over the past few years, for parties, holidays, birthdays, etc. Always a hit. It's very rich. I use Oreo premade crust. Then after pouring the caramel in the bottom, I coat it with mini chocolate chips and chopped pecans. I put another layer of chocolate chips and pecans on top during baking. Then, before serving or taking to wherever I am going, I put a caramel drizzle all over the top. Too easy and gives it a professional look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This cake did not turn out so well for me. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written. The cake was so gooey that I could hardly cut it with a knife. The caramel hardened and fell off of the filling when you try to eat it with a fork. This sounded like a good recipe but, I think I needs a few minor changes. Add flour to the batter to make the cheesecake less gooey, use a different form of caramel, make the cake part thicker, and use more pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States