Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I also did the modifications: 1 box oreos, crushed and with 5T butter, in a greased 9" springform baked at 375 for about 10-15 minutes. Let it cool. I couldn't find wrapped caramels, so I took a chance and used a 1/2 jar of thick caramel ice cream topping on the cooled crust. It made it a tad hard to cut, but was very tasty. Also did the filling 1.5x the recipe, and a little extra dark chocolate chips thrown in. Then I baked the 3 temperature combination (400, 250, off oven) and chilled it overnight. It was a hit! And no water bath needed, that was the best part. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGLANGFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scuba Steve
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Wow! This cheesecake was awesome. I have been making cheesecakes for years, and recently stumbled upon this recipe. I made it for Thanksgiving, and it was gone in 10 minutes. The previous reviews are priceless, as I am sure my cake would not have turned out as well without them. OREO crust is a must (1 package Oreos and 5T unsalted butter). I did 1.5x filling and it was the perfect amount. You must use Kraft caramels, and if you melt them down with the evaporated milk correctly, it will not harden up when chilled, and will remain creamy and decadent. Additionally, I sprinkled some ground toasted pecans on top before cooking, and saved a handful for caramels and some of the milk to make a drizzle for the top, and the cake turned out looking very professional. I used a waterbath to cook, and it turned out absolutely perfect. Using a waterbath ensures a perfect cheesecake every time. To make a waterbath, I use 18 inch heavy duty aluminum foil to wrap my 9 inch spring form pan. I only use one layer and it works fine. Then I place it in a 12x17x3 inch baking pan with about an inch of water. Throughout the cooking I throw some ice in to keep the water from boiling, and keep the water level up. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scuba Steve

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Someone suggested using a can of dulce de leche instead of the caramels. I did this, microwaving it for 40 sec before I added it to the crust to make it spread easier. Consistency was perfectly smooth...not hard at all but not runny either. Plus, no cooking! Made this twice with a graham cracker crust and have gotten several compliments both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
AMAZING!!! I doubled the cheesecake batter to make thicker, which made for a nice high cake, just like in restaurants. I saved some of the caramel for topping too. The crust got a bit hard to cut, but not sure how I would change that. Would for sure make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Really good, but very rich. Next time I'll cut smaller slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I to will try more chocolate next time. Quite good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelly, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
The crust was very hard, hard to cut, hard to chew. The cheesecake was not very chocolatey. I will try this one again b/c I think it has potential. I will put nuts on the crust, possibly into the crust as well. I will reserve the carmel for topping only. And lastly, I will double if not triple the amount of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I made this just as described, except for substituting an oreo cookie crust. It was fabulous, creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kalex
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Great recipe. I used an oreo cookie crust and left out the pecans. Other then that I followed the recipe exactly. It cracked in the last few minutes of baking so once it cooled I added a chocolate glaze and topped with crumbled oreos. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
this was great! made it for my brother-in-law's birthday & everyone just raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States