Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is my new favorite dessert! I have made it twice now. I have just followed the advice of some of the reviewers on here and it has turned out as best as a novice cheesecake maker could ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
After reading all of the reviews (yes, I was nuts and studied it all so I could make THE perfect turtle cheesecake), I've created my changes and it is AMAZING! - Double the cheesecake portion recipe, it's not thick enough otherwise. - Instead of adding chocolate to the cheesecake, just do the oreo crust. The nila wafer crust doesn't have much flavor and the oreo one is flavorful AND give the cheesecake enough chocolate. - Put 3/4 of the melted caramel as called for, but reserve 1/4 of it to drizzle on the top of the cheesecake. - Use an additional 10 pecans (toasted) to decorate the top of the cheesecake. Looks super professional with the drizzled caramel and WHOLE pecans! - Add 2tbs more of butter to make the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This turned out great! I make my own caramel sauce so I used that, as well as Oreo crumbs for the crust. The cheesecake part wasn't overly good, so next time I'll adjust that. The flavours were awesome and I'll definately be using this idea again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I had problems with the crust. Next time, I'll follow my instincts and use more butter. Although its not specified, I used a water bath - not a good idea. The cheesecake did not fully cook, but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
A family favourite! Try with a ganosh topping to finish it off and pipe whipped cream dollops for each serving. I also recomment light cream cheese (for any cheesecake). You can't taste the difference and it results in fewer callories =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Oh my! I make a lot of cheesecakes and this was absolutely delicious. The only thing I changed was to make some homemade whipping cream (1/4 cup sugar and 1 cup heaving whipping cream and beat on high until light and fluffy) to add to the top before drizzling with carmel and topping with some pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Yum! Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I lost my recipe and this is just like mine...whenever i make it it's a big hit and goes FAST!! Enjoy. just a side note, toast pecans for 10 minutes first and put crust in oven for 5 min before adding ingredients! It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I also did the modifications: 1 box oreos, crushed and with 5T butter, in a greased 9" springform baked at 375 for about 10-15 minutes. Let it cool. I couldn't find wrapped caramels, so I took a chance and used a 1/2 jar of thick caramel ice cream topping on the cooled crust. It made it a tad hard to cut, but was very tasty. Also did the filling 1.5x the recipe, and a little extra dark chocolate chips thrown in. Then I baked the 3 temperature combination (400, 250, off oven) and chilled it overnight. It was a hit! And no water bath needed, that was the best part. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGLANGFORD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States