Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The prep on this recipe takes far longer than 30 minutes. Seriously unwrapping all the caramels was a good 10 minute job. I used graham crackers for the crust and found the caramel to be very runny. I never bake my cheesecakes in a water bath and they generally do not crack (this one didn't). While my husband enjoyed this recipe for his birthday I doubt I will be making it again as I think the other turtle cheesecake recipe on this site turns out far better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmg2479

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was Soooo decadent! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Deskins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Add 6 tbsp of margarine with the wafer crumbs. Bake crust at 350 for 10 mins and cool completely before caramel layer. Keep 1/3 of caramels to drizzle on top at the end with 1/4 of chopped pecans (toasted). Bake at 400 for 10 mins, reduce to 250 and bake for 30 mins more and turn off oven. Leave in oven 60 mins more (don't open oven door!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Floyd
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Delicious Cheesecake. I used graham cracker crumbs instead of cookie but I would not recommend using 2 tablespoons of melted butter. That had to be wrong. I used that with 2 cups of crumbs and it wasn't enough to bond the crust. The crust falls apart while you are cutting it. Especially with that layer of caramel between the cheese part and crust, you have to have a stronger crust because the caramel makes it even harder to cut through. I think 1/4 cup of melted butter is needed. Other than that I did exactly what the recipe called for including bake times and it came out wonderful. The cheesecake batter was much thicker this time but it baked up so smooth. I am very pleased. Great creamy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Floyd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Medic's Wife
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Use Oreos with 3 T butter for crust, added extra 1/4 cup chocolate chips. Used milk chocolate Ghirardelli chips. Drizzled caramel and chocolate on top. Toasted the pecans. Also added 1T flour to batter. OMG delicious! Looked professional! Didn't crack at all! Never happened to me before wen making cheesecake! Did not use a water bath either. Loved this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medic's Wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Azita
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I thought this cheesecake was absolutely DELICIOUS!!! Everyone that tasted it, loved it. Not to mention, it looked beautiful! I used the following recommendations: Increased the crust butter to 6 TBL and baked it for 10 minutes at 350. I also baked the cheesecake at 450 for 10 minutes, turned the oven down to 250 without opening the oven and baked for 30 minutes, then turned the oven off (still without opening the oven) and left the cake in another 60 minutes. The top still cracked a bit, but after decorating the top with melted chocolate and pecans, you couldn't even tell. And instead of using wrapped caramels and evaporated milk, I bought the caramel bits that you can melt in the microwave. This was an excellent recipe that was easy to follow and tasted AMAZING!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azita
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Very easy to make! I did have to make a few small substitutions based on what I had on hand, and still turned out flawless; beautiful to look at, no cracks, smooth texture. ( my changes were graham crumbs instead of wafers, I would do wafers next time as the Graham's didn't stick together well... And I had only half the Carmel's but I subbed with caramel sauce with no poor side effects, just not a visible caramel layer). I don't agree that this was too rich, as some have said. It is one of the lighter "easier to eat" cheesecakes I have made, and I think would appeal to those who aren't raving cheesecake fans since its not too thick or sticky. Wonderful cheesecake, very solid base recipe. Do what you like to topping or crust... The base recipe is top notch. *note, I always do a water bath with cheesecakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Very good! I made this for my husband's birthday. The only change I would make next time would be to not put any caramel on the crust, but only on the top. Some of the caramel soaked through the crust causing it to stick to the pan when trying to cut it. Much of the crust was left on the pan which was quite disappointing. I did use Smucker's Caramel Sauce instead of following the recipe for the caramel, so that could be why I had problems with it. Otherwise, this was quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This recipe is AMAZING! I made it into mini cheesecakes (cupcake size) for Christmas Eve and they were gone in 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This was very good! I added 50% to the filling, as one review suggested, and that was too much. Next time I'll stick to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States