Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
In order to give this more stars it needed a few changes for my taste. The caramel made it difficult to slice when chilled and made it way too rich, I like rich but this was too much. I made 1 1/2 times the batter and only made half of it chocolate adding a little less chocolate than called for. If I make again I would drop some dollops of caramel in the first layer of cheesecake batter and do some swirls with the carmel and pecans. Then I would put the chocolate flavored cheesecake batter on top. I see potential but as is it was not a "hit" at Easter because everyone said it was too rich. I bake the crust and chilled after the caramel layer was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was very good--my son requested it for his birthday. After it was refrigerated it was hard to get the sides of the pan to remove because the caramel had stuck to it. I put the pan, still wrapped in foil, in hot water and was able to dislodge it. Anyway, the crust is delish, but the filling was not quite as smooth and dense as I prefer, but very good without a doubt. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and everyone in our house loved it. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was just "ok" for me. I prefer my cheesecake with a thicker cheesecake. This seemed more candy/crust than cheesecake. Other reviews had said to do 1 1/2 x the cheesecake filling - which I would try if I made this again. I did add more of the turtle topping portion as a garnish since alone, the baked part of the cheesecake didn't look that appealing. The appearance was fantastic when drizzled with chocolate, caramel and pecans on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Cherry-Oldt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
this cake was too sweet for me (I rarely eat sweets), but it got raves reviews from co-workers & friends. I added a melted chocolate chip layer on top & drizzled some melted caramels, then sprinkled some pecans - very pretty! make sure there's lots of milk or strong black coffee around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
i used a ready made pie crust to make the recipe even easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
OMG! This got the best reviews of almost anything I've ever made. And that's saying something!! I was putting it out on a holiday buffet dessert table. And I'd forgotten to spray the cheesecake pan and it was totally stuck and not coming loose - no how, no way. So I just put the whole thing on the table with a gigantic spoon for serving. And it still won hands down over all the other tasty desserts available. This is one that will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
The results were delicious, but I think there was something missing, perhaps it was the crust. Instead of the caramel sauce in the recipe, I made my own caramel (no trans anything and no high fructose stuff) which has a richer flavor. I also toasted the pecans on a baking sheet before baking the crust. Other than that, I followed the suggestions of others by using 1.5x the filling (great height!), using more butter in the crust (great flavor and hold) and baking it with the staggered temperatures (no cracks). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cerine Demure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was a good cheesecake but it needs some tweaking. I didn't like the consistency of the cheesecake, it was cake-like instead of creamy like cheesecake should be. If I make this again I would change the cheese portion to be creamier like a New York cheesecake and I would use chocolate cookie crumbs for the crust. Be sure to cool the caramel very well before you pour the cheesecake on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie N Matt Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Fantastic and sooo yummy!! I used it for a girlfriend's birthday dessert and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States