Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Tastes great! After it was done in the oven I turned the oven off and left it in for three hours before moving it into the fridge and the top didn't crack. It turned out great. I would highly suggest leaving it overnight. It tasted so much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Made this as my husband's birthday cake! Everyone raved about it. Without telling anyone the name of the cheesecake, my 5 year old nephew said it tasted just like Turtles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHENEDRAGONFLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
delish!! sent it to the fire station with my husband to see if it was up to the firemen's high standards (they are quite the critics, and not afraid to tell you if something is mediocre!) it got rave reviews and they told me I can make it for them anytime. Made as directed but i swirled the caramel and chocolate on top of the cookie crust and topped it with chocolate turtle candies. YUMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseApril

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I agree with some of the others: it's good, really but needs some changes. The caramel sauce was way too runny; the pan needed something or you would have the cake sticking to the bottom and hard to remove. The nuts got soggy beacause of the runny sauce and the cheese part tended to go down through the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This recipe tastes just like a Fannie Mae Turtle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I was sooo looking forward to this cheesecake, unfortunaltely I was a little disapointed. First of all, it was not amazing. The filling tasted good, but not out of the ordinary. The caramel was way too liquidy, and as per the recipe, it doesn't say to boil until thickened, it just says until well melted. It stuck to my pan so bad, I had to soak the pan overnight to get the caramel off!I wish it had said something about greasing the pan beforehand! Even the pecans went lumpy because of how liquid the caramel was. It is very time comsuming to make, and I don't think it was that much worth the effort. I love making cheesecake, and I was looking for one recipe that was a change from my usual new york style that I make, which is usually a great hit! Unfortunalely, this was not nearly a hit at the family gathering. Sorry, but I don't think I'll be making again :( thanks for sharing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
In order to give this more stars it needed a few changes for my taste. The caramel made it difficult to slice when chilled and made it way too rich, I like rich but this was too much. I made 1 1/2 times the batter and only made half of it chocolate adding a little less chocolate than called for. If I make again I would drop some dollops of caramel in the first layer of cheesecake batter and do some swirls with the carmel and pecans. Then I would put the chocolate flavored cheesecake batter on top. I see potential but as is it was not a "hit" at Easter because everyone said it was too rich. I bake the crust and chilled after the caramel layer was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was very good--my son requested it for his birthday. After it was refrigerated it was hard to get the sides of the pan to remove because the caramel had stuck to it. I put the pan, still wrapped in foil, in hot water and was able to dislodge it. Anyway, the crust is delish, but the filling was not quite as smooth and dense as I prefer, but very good without a doubt. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and everyone in our house loved it. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was just "ok" for me. I prefer my cheesecake with a thicker cheesecake. This seemed more candy/crust than cheesecake. Other reviews had said to do 1 1/2 x the cheesecake filling - which I would try if I made this again. I did add more of the turtle topping portion as a garnish since alone, the baked part of the cheesecake didn't look that appealing. The appearance was fantastic when drizzled with chocolate, caramel and pecans on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Cherry-Oldt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States