Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by GessicaAbsi
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Wow, this recipe was good! I followed others reviews and used an oreo crust with 5 TBS of butter. I increased the filling by 50 perecent to make a taller cheesecake. I wish I would have added 1 TBS of flour because the middle was more gooey than I prefer. I toasted pecans for the top, made a ganache, and drizzled it with caramel...YUM! Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jellybean
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Great recipe :) For the crust, I used one box of oreos and 4TB butter and lightly toasted the pecans for more flavor. Reading the reviews, I noticed many people thought the caramel to cheesecake ratio was off, so I made 1 1/2 times the cheesecake filling, and i think that it would have been just fine, if not better with the original amounts. I also baked it for 10 min at 450, 30 at 250, and then turned the oven off and let it sit for another 60 min, and it turned out perfect. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This recipe was a huge success! However I did follow several suggestions from reviews. I added a tbsp of flour to prevent cracking and also did the 450 for ten minutes, 250 for 30 minutes, and oven off for 30 minutes. It came out beautiful. In order to make it as chocolate and as dark as the picture I used more like a cup and a half of the chocolate chips. I put pecans and caramel ice cream topping on the top. Oh and I used chocolate graham cracker crumbs for the crust, more like 5 tbsp of butter, and seemed to only use about 1 cup of the crumbs. Definitely got the brownie points that I needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this in a 10" springform, so I added 1/3 more of the cheesecake filling ingredients and the crust ingredients. I also chose not to melt the chocolate chips, just stirring them in instead. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynna_Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcade, New York, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I didn't have any caramels on hand so I substituted ice cream caramel fudge sauce. Don't do this - it makes it too sticky and difficult to cut. I omitted the pecans. This cheesecake looks very pretty and has a smooth, rich texture. I used swirled caramel in the shape of a spiral on the top. Be sure to bring the cream cheese and eggs to room temperature to prevent your cheesecake from cracking. I would make again if entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
A little 'heavy', but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Made this several times over the past few years, for parties, holidays, birthdays, etc. Always a hit. It's very rich. I use Oreo premade crust. Then after pouring the caramel in the bottom, I coat it with mini chocolate chips and chopped pecans. I put another layer of chocolate chips and pecans on top during baking. Then, before serving or taking to wherever I am going, I put a caramel drizzle all over the top. Too easy and gives it a professional look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This cake did not turn out so well for me. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written. The cake was so gooey that I could hardly cut it with a knife. The caramel hardened and fell off of the filling when you try to eat it with a fork. This sounded like a good recipe but, I think I needs a few minor changes. Add flour to the batter to make the cheesecake less gooey, use a different form of caramel, make the cake part thicker, and use more pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made this for someone's birthday at work and it came out EXCELLENT!!! I love cooking and making desserts but this was the BEST cheesecake I've ever made. I followed someone's suggestions and made it the following way: I used crushed oreos for the crust - chocolate cheesecake - this was a no brainer of a change. (baking the crust for 10min at 375 or so) I saved a little bit of the caramel stuff to decorate the top. I increased the ingreadients for the filling by 50% and cooked it for 60 minutes at 250 instead of 30 and then left it in the oven (with the oven off)for a half an hour or so after that. Oh yes... after pouring the caramel layer on the crust I put it in the freezer for 15 to 20 min so the filling wouldn't mix in with the caramel. Helpful note: I made sure I put the cheesecake on a cookie sheet while baking. Turned out to be a really good thing as the oil from the butter in the crust and the caramels seeps out the bottom of the cheesecake pan. The presentation of this was incredible it looked just like something you would pick up in a gourmet pastry shop! (Now how did that happen???) The presentation of this way incredible and the taste was even better. It is the best cheesecake I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RESONNANT
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
As if this wasn't already bad enough - I used my own favorite cheesecake recipe and then made (per someone's suggestion) Carmels (recipe from allrecipes) which took longer than anything else but OH the wonderful smell in the house! For the crust I couldn't find what I wanted and don't like oreos so I bought 2 Chocolate pre-made crusts. Turned out to be a little over 2 cups but I used KerryGold butter (divine) and it stuck together great! THEN, with leftover carmel sauce (makes a ton) I buttered a dish, sprinkled pecans and ghiradelli chopped chocolate and poured the rest of the carmel sauce over the top. When everything is said and done I'll cut cute little turtle shapes (I hope) and adorn the top of the cake. Side note: I buttered the bottom of the springform pan, THEN added parchment paper to cover and THEN buttered that in hopes that it's not a fiaso prying the cake from the pan. I have a feeling (since I used my own cake recipe) that it's going to be a bit messy as it's nearing the top of the pan and it's only been 10 minutes. lol I'm giving it a 5 because of how it smells and looks but I can't partake for another 3 weeks so in the freezer it will go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States