Chocolate Turtle Cheesecake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This. Tasted. Amazing! It was a huge hit when I had my parents over for dinner; it was worth the huge mess it made and the little extra effort it takes. If I make it again, I think I will use oreo cookie crumbs for the crust, and it needs more butter than called for in the recipe. Also, I'm not sure how to remedy this, but the caramel stuck horribly to the pan, so badly that I was almost ready to throw the pan away! Definitely melt the individually wrapped caramels and evaporated milk for the filling; so rich and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by messy_jessie
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is supremely excellent! The chocolate cheesecake is silky and rich. The carmel is a perfect creamy consistency. All you could ask for in a turtle cheesecake:) The very minor changes I made after reading several reviews, were to add 2 extra tbsp of butter to the crust, and I used 2 10.5 oz. pkgs of Werther's Chewy Caramels mixed with 1/2 cup evaporated milk. Oh yeah...Make sure you push the crust up the side of your springform pan at least an inch so the caramel won't stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy_jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Amazing!!!! I followed the recommendations of the first three reviewers and it turned out perfect. It was a great girls night in treat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I absolutely ADORE this recipe!! It's delicious!! I've had people, who have always claimed to hate cheesecake or anything other than plain cheesecake, go nuts about this recipe and even grab another slice! This is an official hit among all of the people I bake for! The suggestions I have are: - I increase the cheesecake filling portion of the recipe by another 50%. This makes it a little thicker, which I like. - I use ground Chocolate Teddy Grahams for the crust, and only place those on the bottom, not the sides. Also, I increase the melted butter to 4-5 tbsp to make the crust stick together better. - I don't put the caramel layer down in the cheesecake. Instead, I buy dipping caramel (the stuff people use for apples) and spread a layer of that over the top after the cheesecake completely cools. An added bonus to this is that it covers any cracks in the top of the cheesecake. - I cook it for 40 minutes at 350 degrees, and then, WITHOUT OPENING THE OVEN DOOR, I turn off the oven and let it sit in there for another 30 minutes while the oven cools down. It comes out perfect! - I roast the pecans by spreading the pieces thinly over a baking sheet and placing it in the oven while I preheat it. Take them out as soon as it hits 350, though, or they start to burn. Well, those are all of my suggestions (most of which were gathered and tweaked from other comments on this page!. I hope everyone enjoys this recipe as much as my family, friends and I do!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FestiveFlours

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
An absolutely fantastic recipes!!! I made it for a get together with my in-laws and everybody loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Amazing cheesecake - my only regret was when it was all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
One of my favorite recipes ever! It is very rich, I always have to drink a glass of milk with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Just did not turn out for me. Made exactly the way the recipe stated and it came out looking flat and unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Use a good quality chocolate, and dont forget to let the caramel layer set a little bit or else the filling will disrupt it quite a bit. other then that its a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This cheesecake was good...but didn't stand out as one I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States