Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
So sweet and good. Any chocolate lover will love these. I used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet (personal preference). And I rolled in a variety of toppings - colored sugars, chocolate sprinkles, colored sprinkles, coconut, powdered sugar and nonpareils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I usually don't make the brand recipes, preferring to go with reader submitted, but this was a great recipe! I had milk chocolate on hand that needed to be used, and I hoped that this would turn out okay. Well, I didn't have enough! I bake a lot and had some leftover semi-sweet and butterscotch chips. So, I used 1 1/2 cups milk chocolate, 1 1/4 cups semi-sweet chocolate, and 1/4 cup buttercotch. I used the standard "coatings" as well as dried blueberries, raisins, and cinammon. These truffles were wonderful! Every last one disapperaed at our party. The recipe was extremely easy, and I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Excellent, easy recipe. My 13 year old daughter made a batch (which yielded about the listed 6 dozen surprisingly enough), used a variety of coatings, and gave them away in decorative tins for the holidays. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Sooooo easy and yummy. I used almond extract (I love almond flavoring) and rolled them in toasted, chopped almonds. Delicious! We ate a lot of them, but I froze a bunch and then sealed them in Foodsaver Vacuum bags (single layers) and am keeping them in the freezer for a special occasion. Will definitely make again, probably try with amaretto or hazelnut liquor as a flavoring, or will try using mint chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
These truffles will be as good as the chocolate chips you use, so use a good brand like Ghiradelli! I make these all of the time, and everyone always asks me to make them again. I also roll them in chili powder (without onion/garlic) and that creates a rich, dark flavor. I have also found that letting them sit out until the mixture is ready to be rolled is sometimes more effective than chilling - chilling can make everything too cold and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This was super easy. I didn't want all my truffles to have the same flavor, so I poured half into a separate bowl. I mixed half with vanilla, the other half with 1/8 cup of rum and coated them with chopped pecans, powdered sugar, sprinkles, unsweetened cocoa and coconut. I'll keep a batch frozen at all times for quick gifts! Inexpensive, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetslady
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Super easy and oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Even though I didn't follow the recipe exactly these truffles turned out fabulously! I dind't have semi sweet chocolate chips so I used white almond bark as well as chocolate almond bark. I also used half vanilla extract and half rum extract. I was feeling lazy so I poured the melted chocolate into a baked pie shell. Talk about yummy! Next time I will make the truffles and roll them in differet toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
A very easy AND very, very tasty chocolate truffles recipe! I used bourbon with finely chopped and toasted pecans. My favorite, so far, is orange flavored which I used triple sec liquer, coated with cocoa powder. Great idea from another reviewer to freeze these. I'm giving that a try so I have them on hand for the upcoming holiday. I look forward to trying other flavor variations. These are gift-worthy treats. *if mixture is too hard from chilling, leave out to warm to room temperature. Your hands when rolling will melt chocolate well enough too, for coatings to adhere*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This recipe is easy and good for children to help. They are great using White Chocolate and rolled in Heath crunch as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States