Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
So sweet and good. Any chocolate lover will love these. I used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet (personal preference). And I rolled in a variety of toppings - colored sugars, chocolate sprinkles, colored sprinkles, coconut, powdered sugar and nonpareils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Excellent, easy recipe. My 13 year old daughter made a batch (which yielded about the listed 6 dozen surprisingly enough), used a variety of coatings, and gave them away in decorative tins for the holidays. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Sooooo easy and yummy. I used almond extract (I love almond flavoring) and rolled them in toasted, chopped almonds. Delicious! We ate a lot of them, but I froze a bunch and then sealed them in Foodsaver Vacuum bags (single layers) and am keeping them in the freezer for a special occasion. Will definitely make again, probably try with amaretto or hazelnut liquor as a flavoring, or will try using mint chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
These truffles will be as good as the chocolate chips you use, so use a good brand like Ghiradelli! I make these all of the time, and everyone always asks me to make them again. I also roll them in chili powder (without onion/garlic) and that creates a rich, dark flavor. I have also found that letting them sit out until the mixture is ready to be rolled is sometimes more effective than chilling - chilling can make everything too cold and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I usually don't make the brand recipes, preferring to go with reader submitted, but this was a great recipe! I had milk chocolate on hand that needed to be used, and I hoped that this would turn out okay. Well, I didn't have enough! I bake a lot and had some leftover semi-sweet and butterscotch chips. So, I used 1 1/2 cups milk chocolate, 1 1/4 cups semi-sweet chocolate, and 1/4 cup buttercotch. I used the standard "coatings" as well as dried blueberries, raisins, and cinammon. These truffles were wonderful! Every last one disapperaed at our party. The recipe was extremely easy, and I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This was super easy. I didn't want all my truffles to have the same flavor, so I poured half into a separate bowl. I mixed half with vanilla, the other half with 1/8 cup of rum and coated them with chopped pecans, powdered sugar, sprinkles, unsweetened cocoa and coconut. I'll keep a batch frozen at all times for quick gifts! Inexpensive, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetslady
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Super easy and oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Even though I didn't follow the recipe exactly these truffles turned out fabulously! I dind't have semi sweet chocolate chips so I used white almond bark as well as chocolate almond bark. I also used half vanilla extract and half rum extract. I was feeling lazy so I poured the melted chocolate into a baked pie shell. Talk about yummy! Next time I will make the truffles and roll them in differet toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
A very easy AND very, very tasty chocolate truffles recipe! I used bourbon with finely chopped and toasted pecans. My favorite, so far, is orange flavored which I used triple sec liquer, coated with cocoa powder. Great idea from another reviewer to freeze these. I'm giving that a try so I have them on hand for the upcoming holiday. I look forward to trying other flavor variations. These are gift-worthy treats. *if mixture is too hard from chilling, leave out to warm to room temperature. Your hands when rolling will melt chocolate well enough too, for coatings to adhere*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This recipe is easy and good for children to help. They are great using White Chocolate and rolled in Heath crunch as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States