Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This is a fairly good recipe, but it can be better. I find that the resulting truffles are too sweet. I prefer to use heavy cream (brought to a boil) instead of the sweetened condensed milk--this will give it that "melt-in-your-mouth" texture. I also use chopped Valrhona chocolates (milk or dark, depending on the flavoring) rather than chocolate chips--you want to go with the very best chocolate that you can afford, especially with gifts. Some flavor combinations to try: candied ginger (ground to a powder) and saffron, amaretto, kahlua and espresso powder, bailey's irish cream or rum, green tea (steeped in the cream during boiling time), or peach schnapps and orange zest. The possibilities are endless! I prefer to roll these in a dark chocolate coating, than topped off by a sprinkle of cocoa powder. powdered sugar or crushed nuts also work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This recipe is very simple & results in a delicately textured, creamy, rich and decadent truffle. The only reason I gave this 4* instead of 5* is that chilling resulted in the truffle mixture being so rock hard I couldn't roll it. Instead, I suggest leaving the truffle mixture on your counter for an hour or so, until the mixture is firm enough to handle, then perhaps put it in the fridge for about 30 minutes. Your hands will melt the truffle mix a little when you roll it, but that's ok -- you want it to be a little moist so that the coating ingredients will stick. I left some plain chocolate, used butter flavoring with some and rum flavoring with others. Rolled them in crushed pecans, almonds, walnuts, chocolate jimmies, crushed vanilla wafers, powdered sugar, coconut & cocoa. These store well & can be frozen too. Great gift for the holidays and parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
These truffles will be as good as the chocolate chips you use, so use a good brand like Ghiradelli! I make these all of the time, and everyone always asks me to make them again. I also roll them in chili powder (without onion/garlic) and that creates a rich, dark flavor. I have also found that letting them sit out until the mixture is ready to be rolled is sometimes more effective than chilling - chilling can make everything too cold and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This is simply the BEST truffle recipe out there! It is certainly the easiest too! But be sure to "Whip" the flavorings in or else the chocolate will take on a "broken" or grainy and oily look. Once you whip more air into it it will pull together just fine. I would recommend this for anyone of any culinary expertise. Do remember that chocolate likes it slow and low as not to be scorched and constantly stir. Have some friends over and make it a party with different toppings stations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christian Van Ubenschlachen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
these were so yummy I just made these and they were so easy.The only trouble I had was with the cooloing process I didn't freeze them I left them on the counter for a little bit then put them in the refridgerator they were kind of hard to scrape out of the pan so my next batch I am going to pour the mixture in a glob on wax paper then leave on counter that way it's not stuck on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
A very easy AND very, very tasty chocolate truffles recipe! I used bourbon with finely chopped and toasted pecans. My favorite, so far, is orange flavored which I used triple sec liquer, coated with cocoa powder. Great idea from another reviewer to freeze these. I'm giving that a try so I have them on hand for the upcoming holiday. I look forward to trying other flavor variations. These are gift-worthy treats. *if mixture is too hard from chilling, leave out to warm to room temperature. Your hands when rolling will melt chocolate well enough too, for coatings to adhere*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I usually don't make the brand recipes, preferring to go with reader submitted, but this was a great recipe! I had milk chocolate on hand that needed to be used, and I hoped that this would turn out okay. Well, I didn't have enough! I bake a lot and had some leftover semi-sweet and butterscotch chips. So, I used 1 1/2 cups milk chocolate, 1 1/4 cups semi-sweet chocolate, and 1/4 cup buttercotch. I used the standard "coatings" as well as dried blueberries, raisins, and cinammon. These truffles were wonderful! Every last one disapperaed at our party. The recipe was extremely easy, and I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This is my first time making truffles. I used semi-sweet chocolate bars instead of chocolate chips. They turned out great! I coated them with crushed nuts and powerdered sugar. They tasted wonderful. Next time, I would try different coatings, add peppermint extract instead of vanilla, and maybe use a little bit less condensed milk. (since the truffles were too sweet for me, but everyone else LOVED them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
These were wonderful and my daughters and I had so much fun making the Truffles. My 6 yr. old daughter thought of taking crushed graham crackers and rolling the Truffles in it, what a wonderful idea. The graham cracker version almost tasted like smores. My daughters and I will surely make these again. Thank-You for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Painted Post, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These truffles were extremely quick and easy to make. I made a double batch and took it to Advent Night at our church. It made for a fun activity as people were able to shape into balls and roll their truffles in their choice of toppings. I used 1/2 semi-sweet and 1/2 dark chocolate for a deeper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Arroyo Grande, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States