Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
So sweet and good. Any chocolate lover will love these. I used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet (personal preference). And I rolled in a variety of toppings - colored sugars, chocolate sprinkles, colored sprinkles, coconut, powdered sugar and nonpareils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Excellent, easy recipe. My 13 year old daughter made a batch (which yielded about the listed 6 dozen surprisingly enough), used a variety of coatings, and gave them away in decorative tins for the holidays. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Very intresting. I liked the recipe. It was easier then most and used ingredients I had in my closets. I made orange truffles and coated them in tempered chocolate. 'Twas easier then I though which was nice. However I shall try my next batch with brandy. MMMM a nice chocolate treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Super easy and a "can't fail" recipe. A little too sweet for me, but certainly worth making. Handy to have in the freezer--dip or coat when you're ready to use them. Seal well, chocolate absorbs other flavors very easily! This recipe scaled to one-third filled a quart freezer bag. A lot of truffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Sooooo easy and yummy. I used almond extract (I love almond flavoring) and rolled them in toasted, chopped almonds. Delicious! We ate a lot of them, but I froze a bunch and then sealed them in Foodsaver Vacuum bags (single layers) and am keeping them in the freezer for a special occasion. Will definitely make again, probably try with amaretto or hazelnut liquor as a flavoring, or will try using mint chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
These truffles will be as good as the chocolate chips you use, so use a good brand like Ghiradelli! I make these all of the time, and everyone always asks me to make them again. I also roll them in chili powder (without onion/garlic) and that creates a rich, dark flavor. I have also found that letting them sit out until the mixture is ready to be rolled is sometimes more effective than chilling - chilling can make everything too cold and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Very good but I don't know what the heck I did wrong. I followed the directions exactly as written and I could not keep the truffles in a ball, they were too goopy. However they tasted fantastic. I used Irish Cream maybe that was the problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I usually don't make the brand recipes, preferring to go with reader submitted, but this was a great recipe! I had milk chocolate on hand that needed to be used, and I hoped that this would turn out okay. Well, I didn't have enough! I bake a lot and had some leftover semi-sweet and butterscotch chips. So, I used 1 1/2 cups milk chocolate, 1 1/4 cups semi-sweet chocolate, and 1/4 cup buttercotch. I used the standard "coatings" as well as dried blueberries, raisins, and cinammon. These truffles were wonderful! Every last one disapperaed at our party. The recipe was extremely easy, and I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This was super easy. I didn't want all my truffles to have the same flavor, so I poured half into a separate bowl. I mixed half with vanilla, the other half with 1/8 cup of rum and coated them with chopped pecans, powdered sugar, sprinkles, unsweetened cocoa and coconut. I'll keep a batch frozen at all times for quick gifts! Inexpensive, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Yum and easy! Definately a keeper for holiday tins. FYI - this is the same recipe as Luscious Chocolate Truffles, but this one outlines how to handle flavour variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States