Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
So sweet and good. Any chocolate lover will love these. I used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet (personal preference). And I rolled in a variety of toppings - colored sugars, chocolate sprinkles, colored sprinkles, coconut, powdered sugar and nonpareils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Excellent, easy recipe. My 13 year old daughter made a batch (which yielded about the listed 6 dozen surprisingly enough), used a variety of coatings, and gave them away in decorative tins for the holidays. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Very intresting. I liked the recipe. It was easier then most and used ingredients I had in my closets. I made orange truffles and coated them in tempered chocolate. 'Twas easier then I though which was nice. However I shall try my next batch with brandy. MMMM a nice chocolate treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Super easy and a "can't fail" recipe. A little too sweet for me, but certainly worth making. Handy to have in the freezer--dip or coat when you're ready to use them. Seal well, chocolate absorbs other flavors very easily! This recipe scaled to one-third filled a quart freezer bag. A lot of truffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Sooooo easy and yummy. I used almond extract (I love almond flavoring) and rolled them in toasted, chopped almonds. Delicious! We ate a lot of them, but I froze a bunch and then sealed them in Foodsaver Vacuum bags (single layers) and am keeping them in the freezer for a special occasion. Will definitely make again, probably try with amaretto or hazelnut liquor as a flavoring, or will try using mint chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
These truffles will be as good as the chocolate chips you use, so use a good brand like Ghiradelli! I make these all of the time, and everyone always asks me to make them again. I also roll them in chili powder (without onion/garlic) and that creates a rich, dark flavor. I have also found that letting them sit out until the mixture is ready to be rolled is sometimes more effective than chilling - chilling can make everything too cold and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Very good but I don't know what the heck I did wrong. I followed the directions exactly as written and I could not keep the truffles in a ball, they were too goopy. However they tasted fantastic. I used Irish Cream maybe that was the problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I usually don't make the brand recipes, preferring to go with reader submitted, but this was a great recipe! I had milk chocolate on hand that needed to be used, and I hoped that this would turn out okay. Well, I didn't have enough! I bake a lot and had some leftover semi-sweet and butterscotch chips. So, I used 1 1/2 cups milk chocolate, 1 1/4 cups semi-sweet chocolate, and 1/4 cup buttercotch. I used the standard "coatings" as well as dried blueberries, raisins, and cinammon. These truffles were wonderful! Every last one disapperaed at our party. The recipe was extremely easy, and I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This was super easy. I didn't want all my truffles to have the same flavor, so I poured half into a separate bowl. I mixed half with vanilla, the other half with 1/8 cup of rum and coated them with chopped pecans, powdered sugar, sprinkles, unsweetened cocoa and coconut. I'll keep a batch frozen at all times for quick gifts! Inexpensive, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Yum and easy! Definately a keeper for holiday tins. FYI - this is the same recipe as Luscious Chocolate Truffles, but this one outlines how to handle flavour variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States