Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
A very easy AND very, very tasty chocolate truffles recipe! I used bourbon with finely chopped and toasted pecans. My favorite, so far, is orange flavored which I used triple sec liquer, coated with cocoa powder. Great idea from another reviewer to freeze these. I'm giving that a try so I have them on hand for the upcoming holiday. I look forward to trying other flavor variations. These are gift-worthy treats. *if mixture is too hard from chilling, leave out to warm to room temperature. Your hands when rolling will melt chocolate well enough too, for coatings to adhere*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Even though I didn't follow the recipe exactly these truffles turned out fabulously! I dind't have semi sweet chocolate chips so I used white almond bark as well as chocolate almond bark. I also used half vanilla extract and half rum extract. I was feeling lazy so I poured the melted chocolate into a baked pie shell. Talk about yummy! Next time I will make the truffles and roll them in differet toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetslady
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
Super easy and oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Yum and easy! Definately a keeper for holiday tins. FYI - this is the same recipe as Luscious Chocolate Truffles, but this one outlines how to handle flavour variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This was super easy. I didn't want all my truffles to have the same flavor, so I poured half into a separate bowl. I mixed half with vanilla, the other half with 1/8 cup of rum and coated them with chopped pecans, powdered sugar, sprinkles, unsweetened cocoa and coconut. I'll keep a batch frozen at all times for quick gifts! Inexpensive, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I usually don't make the brand recipes, preferring to go with reader submitted, but this was a great recipe! I had milk chocolate on hand that needed to be used, and I hoped that this would turn out okay. Well, I didn't have enough! I bake a lot and had some leftover semi-sweet and butterscotch chips. So, I used 1 1/2 cups milk chocolate, 1 1/4 cups semi-sweet chocolate, and 1/4 cup buttercotch. I used the standard "coatings" as well as dried blueberries, raisins, and cinammon. These truffles were wonderful! Every last one disapperaed at our party. The recipe was extremely easy, and I highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Very good but I don't know what the heck I did wrong. I followed the directions exactly as written and I could not keep the truffles in a ball, they were too goopy. However they tasted fantastic. I used Irish Cream maybe that was the problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
These truffles will be as good as the chocolate chips you use, so use a good brand like Ghiradelli! I make these all of the time, and everyone always asks me to make them again. I also roll them in chili powder (without onion/garlic) and that creates a rich, dark flavor. I have also found that letting them sit out until the mixture is ready to be rolled is sometimes more effective than chilling - chilling can make everything too cold and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Sooooo easy and yummy. I used almond extract (I love almond flavoring) and rolled them in toasted, chopped almonds. Delicious! We ate a lot of them, but I froze a bunch and then sealed them in Foodsaver Vacuum bags (single layers) and am keeping them in the freezer for a special occasion. Will definitely make again, probably try with amaretto or hazelnut liquor as a flavoring, or will try using mint chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Super easy and a "can't fail" recipe. A little too sweet for me, but certainly worth making. Handy to have in the freezer--dip or coat when you're ready to use them. Seal well, chocolate absorbs other flavors very easily! This recipe scaled to one-third filled a quart freezer bag. A lot of truffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States