Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Wow. Yea, I'm not the "cooking" type. However, these proved to be mildy cumbersome, but well worth it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
oh my goodness..these were fabulous! I divided the recipe in half and added a 1/2 tsp of coconut extract to one batch and almond extract to the other then rolled in tosted coconut and crushed almonds. I feel like a pro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Very easy and yummy. I did 1/2 the batch with mint extract and rolled those in crushed candy canes and the other 1/2 with rum (YUM) and coconut. I thought the batter for the mint 1/2 was a little dry and crumbly, but they came together fine and didn't taste gritty. However, after taking a suggestion from another review, I whipped the rum batter and it is sooo much smoother (thanks for the tip! :) ) Over all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I tried this one only I dipped in melted chocolate and they are awesome. Definatly a christmas candy for my collection. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerissadawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Yummy! I did read the other reviews that said these truffles were too sweet, so I used half semi-sweet and half bittersweet Ghiradelli chocolate chips. These were perfect! I rolled half in chocolate sprinkles and half in cocoa powder and these disappeared quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoefiend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
these were so yummy I just made these and they were so easy.The only trouble I had was with the cooloing process I didn't freeze them I left them on the counter for a little bit then put them in the refridgerator they were kind of hard to scrape out of the pan so my next batch I am going to pour the mixture in a glob on wax paper then leave on counter that way it's not stuck on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
this recipe was soo easy and soo good. everytime i make this recipe, i get so many compliments and requests to make it again. i use toasted almonds and toasted sweetened coconut flakes as toppings, both of which i chop in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This is my first time making truffles. I used semi-sweet chocolate bars instead of chocolate chips. They turned out great! I coated them with crushed nuts and powerdered sugar. They tasted wonderful. Next time, I would try different coatings, add peppermint extract instead of vanilla, and maybe use a little bit less condensed milk. (since the truffles were too sweet for me, but everyone else LOVED them)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This recipe is very simple & results in a delicately textured, creamy, rich and decadent truffle. The only reason I gave this 4* instead of 5* is that chilling resulted in the truffle mixture being so rock hard I couldn't roll it. Instead, I suggest leaving the truffle mixture on your counter for an hour or so, until the mixture is firm enough to handle, then perhaps put it in the fridge for about 30 minutes. Your hands will melt the truffle mix a little when you roll it, but that's ok -- you want it to be a little moist so that the coating ingredients will stick. I left some plain chocolate, used butter flavoring with some and rum flavoring with others. Rolled them in crushed pecans, almonds, walnuts, chocolate jimmies, crushed vanilla wafers, powdered sugar, coconut & cocoa. These store well & can be frozen too. Great gift for the holidays and parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States