Chocolate Truffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I've used this recipe in the past, but I've found an even simpler recipe. Simply melt 8 squares of semi-sweet baking chocolate in the microwave, mix in a 1/2 cup of peanut butter, and stir in 8 oz. of thawed cool whip. Refrigerate this mixture, spoon out, and roll into balls (coating them with powdered sugar, sprinkles, cocoa powder, coconut, nuts, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These truffles were extremely quick and easy to make. I made a double batch and took it to Advent Night at our church. It made for a fun activity as people were able to shape into balls and roll their truffles in their choice of toppings. I used 1/2 semi-sweet and 1/2 dark chocolate for a deeper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
So good! I made mine with Kahlua and put one coffee bean on top of each truffle. It was fantastic! The bean added a nice crunch and great taste, plus it looked so fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This recipe could not be more simple to make. I think I may futz around with it a bit, though and perhaps halve the condensed milk and add some heavy cream. The truffles end up a bit too sweet for my taste ~ and maybe that's because I'm not the biggest fan of semi sweet. I may also try to mix in some milk chocolate chips. I do agree you should use the highest quality chocolate you can. I used Ghirardelli since I like it so much. I'm going to try a peanut butter version dipped in nuts also. We'll see how everyone else likes them tonight at my neighbor's solstice party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Excellent, but a little bit too sweet for me. Everyone else loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Very easy! These are only as good as the chocolate you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
this is a great recipe. i made mine with amaretto and bailey's and they are delicious! that's going to be my gift for teachers next year! easy and painless, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I had a blast making truffles! I never thought I'd ever make candy, especially my favorite chocolate truffles, but here I am. I love truffles but they are so expensive that I only get them on very special occasions. That's over now. These are delicious and so easy to make. I made three batches! One with white chocolate chips and vanilla extract, one with semi-sweet chocolate chips and almond extract, and one with butterscotch chips! I am using these as last minute Christmas gifts. Thanks a million for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I made this one because ..well i had 3 cans of the milk.I was very glad i did.i have made many others, but this one has stayed smooth the best.I did large batches with several different flavors, eveRyone turned out great.my favorites ras anD dark chocolate and milk chocolate and coffee (instant dry added, then the top dipped in white chocolate.out of this would.MUST USE GOOD CHOCOLATE, I USED MERKINS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
These are wonderful! The only thing I will do next time is, 1) line a sheet pan with wax paper or foil so getting the batter out will be easier, and 2) will use a mellon baller to make the balls. I made the mistake of leaving the mixture in the sauce pain to set for 3 hours then had a heck of a time getting it out with a spoon and then as I rolled the balls, I had a lot of melted chocolate on my hands. Other than the lack of handling ease, these are wonderful. I rolled some of mine in powdered sugar, some in chopped pecans and some in unsweetened cocoa. I'm making these again tomorrow and this time I will try them rolled in coconut too. Some didn't care for the unsweetened cocoa, so I won't do that one again. This recipe was very easy to make otherwise and tastes great! Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States