Chocolate Truffle Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was very simple to make. The first time I had it, it tasted more like brownies. Made some modifications and the 2nd time around was EXCELLENT: used 7 oz of semi-sweet choco + 7 oz of milk chocolate chips; used 3/4 cup of whipping cream; used 1/4 cup of light brown sugar. Also only baked for 25 min at 325°F and it baked more like a truffle than a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This is AMAZING! I was nervous about trying this recipe after reading the other reviews, but I'm so glad I tried it! The quality of the pie I think really depends on the quality of chocolate you use. I used Ghirardelli 60% bittersweet chocolate, but I recommend Lindt or Hershey's as well. An excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valentine de Villefort

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This pie was easier to make than I was expecting it to be. Great texture, very rich. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead of the squares. I don't get it that people say it isn't sweet enough...you're using SEMI-sweet chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
CHOCOHOLICS REJOICE this is REALLY GOOD i only changed the semi-chocolate chips to milk my family raved
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reah george

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
very good. added crumbled chocolate cookie pie crust. does not need the full cooking time, just w few minutes less to make it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
It was good, but not something I would make 'as-is' again. It was not terribly sweet, so if you want something that isn't too sweet, this would be for you. Very chocolatey. I would try at least half the squares as sweetened chocolate next time. With that tweek, I'd make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
One review used an oreo crust so I did that too. I also used chocolate chips instead of squares, and baked for 30 mins. Rich and yummy. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I have made this a few times and we love it. You don't need a large piece, a little goes along way. Topped with real whipped cream lightly sweetened. Can't ask for an easier dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Trumansburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
i love love loved this reciepe it was so easy to make and it was yum yum yum five stars definantly !!!! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
It Just doesn't seem to have enough sweetness to it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States