Chocolate Truffle Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I'm giving this 4 stars since my coworkers seemed to love them. I wasn't quite as impressed. I'm a major chocoholic, but after they were completely cool, to me they almost tasted a little bitter. Maybe I'll try semi-sweet squares instead if I make them again. I didn't have cocoa powder (well I did but it expired in 2004 so I thought I probably shouldn't use it!), so I added an extra square of unsweetened chocolate and a tablespoon extra flour. I had thin brownie batter at this point. I figured there was no way I would be able to make cookies with that even after refrigerating so I ended up adding 3 more tablespoons of flour. Before refrigerating it was pretty much brownie batter consistency. I refrigerated it over an hour, and boy did it thicken up! I had no problems forming the cookies. I added peanut butter chips to some (I liked those best) and chopped up Andes mints to some. I baked them 8 minutes and moved them to a wire rack after about 1 minute. Overall they apparently turned out good since I got rave reviews. They just weren't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Well, I'm going to ruin this cookie's almost flawless reputation. I didn't really like them, and I am 100% a chocolate over. I didn't really like the taste, nor the consistency-too mushy inside and too bitter-and I looove dark chocolate. I don't know-these cookies and I are not in love. Won't make again. And I wanted to loooove them. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Bigford

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
If you like chocolate or chocolate truffles, you will love these cookies. Make them small and plan to share as they are very rich. I halved this the last time I made the recipe (used two whole eggs), and it turned out great. (Only shared about half of them as they keep well in closed container.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
We loved these. I used mainly all dark chocolate since that was all I had, just added a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mouseketeer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Made this for my friends on valentines day, and everybody loved them! I even got people I don't know asking me to make more because they were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Oh, oh, oh, oh, OH!!! Thank you Kevin! There are 3 things you should not do when you're alone in the house: use a chainsaw, watch a scary movie, and make these cookies! If you're a true chocoholic you'll want to scarf down as many as you can and hide the rest. (No, I have no idea why my pants are getting snug.) After refrigerating overnight the dough was very stiff, but a mini cookie scoop and some muscle did the trick. It was a bit easier after the dough sat out a while, so I may just try cutting the chill time. I rolled some, rolled some and flattened them a little, and just scooped some without rolling them to see the different results. The rolled were slightly neater and flattened made them LOOK bigger, but otherwise it didn't matter. So if you're not concerned about perfect appearances you can just scoop and skip the rolling. 9 minutes in the oven. I used parchment and forgot to try any without. I'll have to make another batch to test that. I may also try peanut butter chips instead of that last cup of semi-sweet chips. Will update if I try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was easy and so DELISH!!! I will make these again and again. Thank you to the person who suggested keeping hands wet while forming the cookies! I also forgot baking powder at the store and substituted 1tsp baking soda and they came out awesome!!! Thank you thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This cookie has a lovely soft texture and it's about as chocolatey as I can imagine a cookie every getting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
these did taste nice, however mine turned out nothing like the picture. after hours in the fridge the batter was thick enough to role in balls but as soon as they went in the oven they spread out so far and so thin they made one very thin but huge cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
OMG! Probably the best tasting cookie ever and I am a cookie SNOB! I never eat the dough but this is the exception! WOW! One of my top 5 cookies now. The only recommendations I have for this recipe are: 1. Use a good quality chocolate, it will be worth it. 2. Double the recipe otherwise you will be back in the kitchen wishing you did the first time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States