Chocolate Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Made it with real whip instead, and added white chocolate chips and fresh strawberries to the top. If you don't have a trifle bowl, like me, try using wide mouth mason jars instead for personal-sized portions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Great idea but I used whipped cream with vanilla and made my own chocolate mousse
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Great dessert for chocolate lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
I made this on a whim for a dinner party for which I was assigned the dessert. It was very pretty and very rich and chocolatey! Delicious! I made home made brownies which made it even better!!!!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This was gone by the time I ran inside to use the bathroom and came back! I honestly never seen something devoured so quickly. Sinfully delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
OMG BEST DESSERT EVER! Made this for my school and family on Thanksgiving. People went insane over it! This is a HUGE hit with kids, I should know. The layers do get a little tedious though if you're making many individuals. Its so worth it! Be sure not to use a spongy or cake-like brownie mix. Fudgy is the best effect. Also, if you dont like going skimpy on the layers, make sure to get extra of everything. I had to start putting REALLY thin layers towards the end due to running out of ingrediants. But overall, AMAZING :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle G

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I showed this recipe to my friend who is a pastry chef, and she suggested one little simple change that will put it over the top. Instead of using 1/2 cup of water, she suggested using cold coffee. She said it will bring out the chocolate flavor and add richness. Next time I make this I am going to try that. Even as the recipe is written, it is 5 star delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is a regular request for birthday desserts in my family. It is a hit every time I take it somewhere. I am always asked for the recipe. I never take leftovers home with me which makes my family sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made this recipe with a Halloween twist for a small get together with friends. I followed the recommendations of users and whipped 1/2 pint of heavy whipping cream until fluffy; this was folded into the water/pudding/condensed milk - this layer becomes thick and almost custard-like and contrasted nicely with the whipped cream layers. As I was concerned about the "processed taste" of cool whip, I whipped a second 1/2 pint of heavy whipping cream for the whipped cream layers. These were whipped in divided doses (two 1/4 pints). The first batch was whipped with 1 tbsp powdered sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, and orange food colouring. The second was whipped with 1 tsp powdered sugar, as I didn't want this layer to be overwhelmingly sweet. I didn't have a trifle dish, so I layered the trifle into a deep glass bowl. It may have been due to the size of the bowl (although it was only medium sized), I was wishing I had more of all the layers; I was forced to carefully ration and spread each layer, because I didn't have enough. Next time, I will ensure to increase the recipe (or at least the pudding abdominal whipped topping layers) by 50-100% to avoid this mishap (unless making a smaller trifle). Nevertheless, I made it work. I layered brownie with few dispersed candy corns, pudding mix, orange vanilla flavoured sweet cream, brownie & candy corns, pudding mix, plain whipped cream, topped with a dusting of unsweetened cocoa powder and candy corn. This is a delicious but very heavy dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily

Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States