Chocolate Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I made this recipe once but changed it. Instead of putting whipped topping in the chocolate mixture, I put a half a pint of heavy cream and beat it for a minute or until it gets thicker. It is WAY too sweet when you make it with the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesweetestchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Ok, I don't believe I am going to say this....but this was WAY too much chocolate!! Don't get me wrong, it isn't horrible and I can see how other people absolutely loved it but it was just too much for me (and even my kids!) and it was definitely too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmmchele
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I made this for Mother's day for my mom and my mother-in-law and they both LOVED it!! I did add a couple things. I added a layer caramel topping on the brownies and topped whole trifle with raspberries very yummy!! :) I also made the brownies gooey instead of cakey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This dessert is amazing! I followed other reviewer's suggestions and used heavy whipping cream instead of Cool Whip with the pudding to cut down the sweetness. I also added Heath bits between the two layers and fresh strawberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I made this by making the pudding per the instructions on the box. I left out the water and condensed milk. It was delicious. I topped it with Heath Bar bits found in the baking aisle. I served it at Easter and it was gone in an hour. I'm not a big sweet lover - but I loved this! One other note: I tore the brownies in smaller pieces - easier to eat than a one inch square. Next time I'm going to add a little Bailey's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
So good! I followed other reviewers suggestions about using heavy cream in place of cool whip for the pudding mixtures. I made a box cake mix, instead of brownies. While the cake was still hot, I poked holes in the cake and poured a cup of coffee over it. I added about a teaspoon of vanilla to the cool whip before using it. There was nothing left of this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Sweet and rich but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
First of all, the Ingredient changes I made are as follows: I bought Smucker's Caramel Sundae Syrup, Heath Toffee Bits, heavy whipping cream, and I also used the French Vanilla Cool Whip in place of the plain (12 oz), and deleted the 8oz Cool Whip. Everything else was the same. I baked a regular brownie package in a 7x11 dish to make the brow nies come out thinner for layering. Then in a separate bowl I whipped 1 cup of heavy cream until stiff peaks. I mixed the pudding, water, and condensed milk thoroughly in another bowl then folded in the cream with the pudding/water mix. In a triffle bowl I layered brownies (just cut & crumbled to make them fit), caramel, chocolate whipped cream, french vanilla cool whip, and then Heath toffee bits; Repeat! This was a MAJOR hit with everyone...especially the kids!! I'm adding this one to the recipe box...EASY & DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I added Oreos instead of the chocolate candy bar. And adding the sweetened condensed milk made things almost unbearably sweet. I added a little to the whipped topping but that made it sort of like marshmallow topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
What a beautiful presentation this made for the table on Easter. Everyone really enjoyed this dessert and it was gone in no time. Only change I did per other reviews was to make the pudding per the package directions. This dish is so easy to make and it tastes great......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States