Chocolate Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Wade.Lam
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
LOVE THIS RECIPE! Once you make it, be prepared to make it AGAIN and AGAIN! I've made this trifle at least 20 times - it's requested at each and every church function. Ignore suggestions to modify the recipe, as it's just perfect as written (and extremely easy to make). Looks almost too pretty to eat in a trifle bowl, especially with melted milk chocolate drizzled on top! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wade.Lam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Wow! This was really wonderful! Very rich and delicious! I did save a few calories by using sugar-free pudding and light whipped topping. Also didn't have the chocolate bar for garnish so used Oreo cookie crumbles instead which worked very well. Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I made this for a family dinner and it was a HUGE success! I have three adult sons, two daughter-in-laws, husband and myself and we STILL had half leftover. It is RICH and DELICIOUS for not a lot of effort. I followed ROXANNE'S modifications because they sounded GREAT! It was! Thanks for the terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Holzhauser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dulce_19
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
i made this for christmas! People loved it. i took some advice like using the heavy whipping cream and awesome! also i used vanilla flavored cool whip instead of regular and it was good but i didnt like it so much it added more sugary taste. overall everyone love it but note to self use regular cool whip:) but if you have a sweet tooth then definately use vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
i made this for my family it didnt last one hour before it was gone..so i took it to our next party same thing it didnt last...it is soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was good!! The only set back is that the brownie pieces were a bit too hard for my grandmother. I also added caramel sauce (drizzled heavily)and crushed heath bar pieces on top of each whip topping layer. DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FattentheHubby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Iris Brace
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
A success! However, my family and I found it a tad too sweet. Perhaps, next time, I might replace the brownies with something else! Worth a try, even just once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris Brace

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I followed many people's advice and did not add cool whip to the pudding but instead whipped heavy whipping cream. I also added a layer of raspberries on top. I did put a very small layer of cool whip between the pudding/cream mixture and the raspberries for color variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I have been told not to make this again by my husband, because he couldn't stop eating it :) I followed other's suggestions of using whipping cream with the pudding mix, toffee bits, caramel, and french vanilla cool whip. I also used homemade brownies, but it would have good with a good boxed brownie too. Since there's no fruit, it didn't get soggy the next day, and in fact was just as good for at least 3 days after making (that's as long as it lasted around here). I'll be making this easy, delicious recipe again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Front Royal, Virginia, USA
Living In: Louisa, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This has become the replacement for my birthday cakes in our house (my OWN birthdays, that is). The one change I make, which another user here mentioned, is to replace one layer of the whipped topping with the French Vanilla flavored topping. I'd also suggest that you use/make brownies that are "cakey" enough to be able to soak a lot of the pudding and cream. And a brownie with chocolate chips or chunks in it is nice, because having them in some of your bites makes for a nice contrast in textures. Also, make the day before and let it sit in the fridge to give the brownies a chance to soak up more of the creams and pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYSPOP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, Utah, USA
Living In: Santaquin, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States