Chocolate Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was very good, and very rich! It was so easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was absolutely delicious!! I made it for our family Christmas gathering and it was a big hit. I did do a few things differently - I used real whipping cream and added vanilla extract to get the french vanilla flavor. I used cook and serve pudding instead of instant. And I added strawberries and kiwis. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peaches42

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very easy to put together. Instead of using the condensed milk, I made the pudding according to package directions to try & cut the sweetness. I also added a layer of smashed up Heath Bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is my first time making a trifle. I needed a desert for a Christmas dinner function I was attending and a work colleague suggested a trifle. I got this recipe online and made it. I reduced the sweetened condensed milk to only 2 tablespoons (because all the ingredients were already sweet). I also added some blackberries and a few blueberries on top. The trifle was a big hit at the dinner. Everyone loved it. My son suggested that I make this my signature desert, since I didn't have one. I think I will. Thanks "allrecipes.com", for saving my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was such a hit that I was TOLD that I was making it again for Christmas. I added fresh cut strawberries to the garnish the top and it was beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Awesome trifle. I substituted real whipping cream for cool whip - much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was a great recipe! It was a little too sweet because I made the pudding with sweetened condensed milk instead of cool whip. Next time I will make the pudding with 1 1/2 cups of whole milk. I also added chocolate chip cookies and colored the Cool Whip red and green for Christmas. I also put Christmas sprinkles on top. This recipe was great for Gluten Free people. I used GF brownie and cookie mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susie-Q81
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this recipe recently for a Christmas party and, like many of the reviews, it was a huge success and very simple to make. The dinner table was very quiet as everyone was busy eating the dessert. :) I would definitely recommend making 1-2 days before. A couple of changes I made that really seemed to make a difference included: added a couple of tablespoons of kahlua to the brownies. I used a double chocolate chunk brownie mix and added it to the very bottom layer. For the layer following the chocolate pudding/mousse layer, I used a large box of oreo cookies which I crushed (by putting them in a large ziploc bag and then pounded with a hammer--great stress reliever!). I also added a layer of strawberries to cut the sweetness, which everyone LOVED, especially since the trifle itself is very very sweet and rich. The strawberries, as well as decorative cupcake picks (with reindeer, stars, birds, etc) were used to top the trifle and to add a Christmasy touch. Very fun to make. I was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This recipe does not need a review to know it is good. How can you go wrong with layers of Brownies, Chocolate Pudding and Whipped Topping??? It is every bit as good as you would imagine, no surprises at all. The kids raved about it and protested when it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I followed the advice of Roxanne323 and added heavy cream in place of cool whip. I also doubled the ingredients because there was a lot of people I was serving. It was a major hit, so easy to make and DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States