Chocolate Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I followed the advice of Roxanne323 and added heavy cream in place of cool whip. I also doubled the ingredients because there was a lot of people I was serving. It was a major hit, so easy to make and DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
delicious, but i will defineletly skip out on the condensed milk next time, it is already sooo sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was a HUGE hit this Thanksgiving! Something new to the dessert table. The kids loved it. I will make this an usually go to dessert. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This recipe is excellent! Family favorite, great for big dinners/potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I followed the adjustments as per Roxanne323 with the heavy cream whipped with sugar till thick and creamy. It was great except I didnt think it needed the caramel at all. It was already sweet enough and definately better made the day before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresakr34

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Delicious! I skipped the water and condensed milk and made pudding as directed, after folding in the cool whip it created a chocolate mousse layer. Yummy! Also layered caramel and crushed heath bar. A huge hit at parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is amazing! I had a couple modifications that other reviewers suggested. I added caramel sauce and chopped butterfinger pieces after the whipped cream layer. I also made my own whipped cream using a recipe from this site to mix with the pudding, and then used french vanilla cool whip to layer. Still very rich, but delicious. Everyone loved it. Doesn't last long even though it makes a ton! Only problem with this dessert is that its a little expensive--but well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was fabulous! It was such a big hit, all of it was eaten, which was surprising judging how decadent it was. First suggestion: Add rosewater to your whipped cream. You can't actually "taste" the rosewater, but you can definitely smell it...and taste is 90% smell. It is traditional to add rosewater to the whipping cream in a trifle. Second suggestion: Use real whipping cream (SUPER stiff peaks). The difference is surprising. Cool-whip and real whipping cream is to the savory comparison of "Miracle whip" versus "real mayo." A world of difference there, if you know what I mean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This just had no wow factor. It was OK but I wouldn't go to the bother of making it again. I made all the components from scratch as our grandson has nut allergies and I hoped this would hit our daughter's chocolate tooth but it wasn't chocolatey enough and not worth all the calories. It did look pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made this for my book club ladies, following the suggestion to use chocolate pudding (not instant) and wgipping cream. also used Baileys. next time I will not include the condensed milk, it was too rich for most of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States