Chocolate Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was a great recipe! It was a little too sweet because I made the pudding with sweetened condensed milk instead of cool whip. Next time I will make the pudding with 1 1/2 cups of whole milk. I also added chocolate chip cookies and colored the Cool Whip red and green for Christmas. I also put Christmas sprinkles on top. This recipe was great for Gluten Free people. I used GF brownie and cookie mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susie-Q81
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this recipe recently for a Christmas party and, like many of the reviews, it was a huge success and very simple to make. The dinner table was very quiet as everyone was busy eating the dessert. :) I would definitely recommend making 1-2 days before. A couple of changes I made that really seemed to make a difference included: added a couple of tablespoons of kahlua to the brownies. I used a double chocolate chunk brownie mix and added it to the very bottom layer. For the layer following the chocolate pudding/mousse layer, I used a large box of oreo cookies which I crushed (by putting them in a large ziploc bag and then pounded with a hammer--great stress reliever!). I also added a layer of strawberries to cut the sweetness, which everyone LOVED, especially since the trifle itself is very very sweet and rich. The strawberries, as well as decorative cupcake picks (with reindeer, stars, birds, etc) were used to top the trifle and to add a Christmasy touch. Very fun to make. I was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This recipe does not need a review to know it is good. How can you go wrong with layers of Brownies, Chocolate Pudding and Whipped Topping??? It is every bit as good as you would imagine, no surprises at all. The kids raved about it and protested when it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I followed the advice of Roxanne323 and added heavy cream in place of cool whip. I also doubled the ingredients because there was a lot of people I was serving. It was a major hit, so easy to make and DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
delicious, but i will defineletly skip out on the condensed milk next time, it is already sooo sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was a HUGE hit this Thanksgiving! Something new to the dessert table. The kids loved it. I will make this an usually go to dessert. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This recipe is excellent! Family favorite, great for big dinners/potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I followed the adjustments as per Roxanne323 with the heavy cream whipped with sugar till thick and creamy. It was great except I didnt think it needed the caramel at all. It was already sweet enough and definately better made the day before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresakr34

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Delicious! I skipped the water and condensed milk and made pudding as directed, after folding in the cool whip it created a chocolate mousse layer. Yummy! Also layered caramel and crushed heath bar. A huge hit at parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is amazing! I had a couple modifications that other reviewers suggested. I added caramel sauce and chopped butterfinger pieces after the whipped cream layer. I also made my own whipped cream using a recipe from this site to mix with the pudding, and then used french vanilla cool whip to layer. Still very rich, but delicious. Everyone loved it. Doesn't last long even though it makes a ton! Only problem with this dessert is that its a little expensive--but well worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States