Chocolate Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I showed this recipe to my friend who is a pastry chef, and she suggested one little simple change that will put it over the top. Instead of using 1/2 cup of water, she suggested using cold coffee. She said it will bring out the chocolate flavor and add richness. Next time I make this I am going to try that. Even as the recipe is written, it is 5 star delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is a regular request for birthday desserts in my family. It is a hit every time I take it somewhere. I am always asked for the recipe. I never take leftovers home with me which makes my family sad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made this recipe with a Halloween twist for a small get together with friends. I followed the recommendations of users and whipped 1/2 pint of heavy whipping cream until fluffy; this was folded into the water/pudding/condensed milk - this layer becomes thick and almost custard-like and contrasted nicely with the whipped cream layers. As I was concerned about the "processed taste" of cool whip, I whipped a second 1/2 pint of heavy whipping cream for the whipped cream layers. These were whipped in divided doses (two 1/4 pints). The first batch was whipped with 1 tbsp powdered sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, and orange food colouring. The second was whipped with 1 tsp powdered sugar, as I didn't want this layer to be overwhelmingly sweet. I didn't have a trifle dish, so I layered the trifle into a deep glass bowl. It may have been due to the size of the bowl (although it was only medium sized), I was wishing I had more of all the layers; I was forced to carefully ration and spread each layer, because I didn't have enough. Next time, I will ensure to increase the recipe (or at least the pudding abdominal whipped topping layers) by 50-100% to avoid this mishap (unless making a smaller trifle). Nevertheless, I made it work. I layered brownie with few dispersed candy corns, pudding mix, orange vanilla flavoured sweet cream, brownie & candy corns, pudding mix, plain whipped cream, topped with a dusting of unsweetened cocoa powder and candy corn. This is a delicious but very heavy dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I have made this recipe with instant pudding mix and Cool Whip, but it is way better if you make homemade whipped cream and homemade chocolate custard. Add layers of raspberries to make it truly brilliant; I gave it 5 stars if you make it the way I recommend. Otherwise, it tastes, well, like Cool whip and instant pudding, if you like those flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn LaBouliere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
My coworkers loved this so much when I brought this on top of the banana trifle I normally bring. It's even better when I added a homemade caramel sauce on top of the brownies. Warning though, it's very rich, but EXTREMELY delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mayville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Awesome! Great reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This was so easy and so delicious. My 9 year old was making a family dinner and we picked this recipe for her dessert. She followed the instructions to a "t" with little help from me and it was a huge hit! We'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I'm a dessert LOVER but found this dessert to be far too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I make this quite often and everyone LOVES it! I substitute real sweetened whipped cream instead of Cool Whip and put crushed skor bar on top. It is deicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
this is a wow every time i make it for others. over the years, it's become too sweet for me. but i'll continue to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States