Chocolate Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is a awesome cake, not difficult at all. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Delicious! I would not change a thing. Made the cake the night before and refrigerated--then added frosting right before serving. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I really enjoyed this. In the future I would add a bit less of the liquid to soak into the cake, otherwise, wonderful. The icing is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was delicious! I couldn't find swiss chocolate cake mix. I used a dark chocolate mix and good quality dark chocolate cocoa powder for the frosting just because I prefer dark chocolate. I made it a day ahead and refrigerated it overnight. It was rich and chocolatey without being overly sweet. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I've made this two times for family get togethers and it disappears fast. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this recipe for my husband who is from Guanajuato, Mexico, so he is our resident Latin cuisine expert. I make tres leches quite a bit and I wanted to try something a bit different. I couldn't find an 18 oz. box of ANY cake mix, so I went with a 16.5 oz. box of a fudge cake. I left all other ingredients the same. The cake came out good and the icing came out good. The ONLY thing that I will change for next time is the amount of liquid I pour over the cake. Normally, I put more, but I wanted to follow the recipe at least the first time. So, I did and my husband and I both agree that it definitely needed more liquid. Tres leches, typically, are not that dry. They are supposed to be a pretty wet cake. So, all I got was a moist cake, not a tres leches. Overall, a pretty good recipe. I will just need to adjust the amount of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by remmus89
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This cake was delicious. I made it as a birthday cake for a bunch of us traditional frosting haters and it was a hit. Love the chocolate whipped cream frosting! And it's so much easier to spread and get that 'magazine pretty' look with. Used devils food cake mix, 16oz with no problem. Was surprised that the cake soaked up all the liquid without turning into soup, but it did. I omitted the evaporated milk and replaced it with half and half. Still delish. I let it set overnight in the fridge before frosting, mostly because it was 2am and I didn't have it in me to frost, but also it had more time for it to soak it all up. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Omitted the espresso powder and used canned whipped frosting from the store. Made the rest according to the recipe. Took it to a gathering, and t was gone within minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I made this for my mother-in-laws birthday and it was a hit. I followed some other reviewers suggestions and substituted 1 stick butter, melted for the cake and 1 box instant chocolate pudding along with the heavy whipping cream for the frosting. It turned out beautiful and tasted amazing. My home has been elected the new celebration home from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This chocolate thres leches cake is amazing my family came back for thirds it was a big hit. I reccomand this recipe for everyone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States