Chocolate Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I give it 5 for taste and easy but problem here is with the directions if you notice ur using the coco 2 x in the recipe and u give no clear instructions how to use it... please fix... but in all people this is a great way to make the cake... family loves it ! and its better 2 days after refrigerated lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaDonna Saylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I've made this twice now. I halved the amount of cocoa in the whipped cream because it tasted too bitter with full amount. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Leigh Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
It definitely tastes the best after 1 or two days in the fridge. The icing was the best--it came out tasting like chocolate mousse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carianna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is a awesome cake, not difficult at all. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Delicious! I would not change a thing. Made the cake the night before and refrigerated--then added frosting right before serving. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I really enjoyed this. In the future I would add a bit less of the liquid to soak into the cake, otherwise, wonderful. The icing is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was delicious! I couldn't find swiss chocolate cake mix. I used a dark chocolate mix and good quality dark chocolate cocoa powder for the frosting just because I prefer dark chocolate. I made it a day ahead and refrigerated it overnight. It was rich and chocolatey without being overly sweet. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I've made this two times for family get togethers and it disappears fast. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this recipe for my husband who is from Guanajuato, Mexico, so he is our resident Latin cuisine expert. I make tres leches quite a bit and I wanted to try something a bit different. I couldn't find an 18 oz. box of ANY cake mix, so I went with a 16.5 oz. box of a fudge cake. I left all other ingredients the same. The cake came out good and the icing came out good. The ONLY thing that I will change for next time is the amount of liquid I pour over the cake. Normally, I put more, but I wanted to follow the recipe at least the first time. So, I did and my husband and I both agree that it definitely needed more liquid. Tres leches, typically, are not that dry. They are supposed to be a pretty wet cake. So, all I got was a moist cake, not a tres leches. Overall, a pretty good recipe. I will just need to adjust the amount of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by remmus89
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This cake was delicious. I made it as a birthday cake for a bunch of us traditional frosting haters and it was a hit. Love the chocolate whipped cream frosting! And it's so much easier to spread and get that 'magazine pretty' look with. Used devils food cake mix, 16oz with no problem. Was surprised that the cake soaked up all the liquid without turning into soup, but it did. I omitted the evaporated milk and replaced it with half and half. Still delish. I let it set overnight in the fridge before frosting, mostly because it was 2am and I didn't have it in me to frost, but also it had more time for it to soak it all up. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States