Chocolate Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This was a pretty good cake! I used devil's food cake and (based on others suggestions) I made 1.5 the filling. To me, it still felt a bit skimpy between layers, so I will double the original filling amount next time. I also used Cadbury's Dairy Milk shavings on top instead of unsweetened chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
A fabulous cake. I made it for a dinner at a friend's house and it was a hit! 1.5 the filling though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I lost the recipe I had for this cream cheese frosting/filling and found it here. I guess it's not my secret anymore! I use the filling (always a double batch) with any kind of cake, and layer it with fruit, usually strawberries or raspberries. To prevent the cake from absorbing the juice and color from the berries, I spread a thin layer of the frosting on the bottom of the cake layer before I put it on top of the fruit, which already sits on a thick layer of frosting. The raves I get from this are unbelievable. My nephew who doesn't eat desserts asked for a second helping. My boss--who is stingy with compliments--took a bite, stopped, forgot himself, and raved about it. And EVERYBODY asks for the recipe. When I offered the recipe for the filling only, they didn't understand. Use the filling with ANY cake, ANY fruit, or use your imagination with chocolate, nuts, or other flavors. Once the finished cake is refrigerated, the filling sets to a wonderful texture, lighter than your average frosting but firmer. If you want to impress somebody, use this filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
My guests loved this desert. I doubled the frosting recipe per other reviewers but found i had way to much. Next time I will follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Absolutely delicious! This went on top of the Dark Chocolate Cake I (the ONLY choc cake recipe I'll ever use!) for my birthday cake. Super creamy, like a slightly cheesy fudge. Delish! Even my parents, who hate frostings, ate the whole thing. The portion size was enough for me, I made a double recipe after reading reviews, but ended up using less than half of it to frost between layers and cover an 8" cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I made this cake for a special occaision, and thought it was wonderful. As others have mentioned, the recipe only makes enough frosting to cover the top of each layer and not the sides of the cake, but I thought it was an elegant look. I also agree that the cake is delicious on the first day...even better on the second. Yum! This is a very delicious, very simple recipe. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I have made this cake twice now, and both times it was a big hit. Delicious, moist, not too sweet, and excellent presentation. Like others, I would just make a few minor modifications: (1) If you have the time, I recommend making the chocolate cake from scratch using the "Dark Chocolate Cake I" recipe from "Carol." You will either need to customize that recipe to make enough for two 9-inch round pans instead of the three called for, OR you can use the extra batter to make cupcakes! (2) As others have noted, you should absolutely double the other ingredients for the frosting. Otherwise there will not be enough to properly cover the top layer and sides. (3) I feel that one 1-ounce square of chocolate is not enough to make the shavings. I'd use two! Also, I've found that it helps to microwave (or otherwise warm) the chocolate before shaving, as this helps achieve the curls you want rather than just messy specks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This torte is easy to make, and is very, very delicious!!! My only complaint was that I thought it would look prettier than it really did. This could also be due to my own inexperience in putting together things like this, but just be forewarned, that if you're not an expert, you may find that it tastes a lot better than it looks!! That being said, I did take it to a party, and people really did rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Fabulous! It looked like a bakery cake and tasted wonderful, very moist and rich. I doubled the amount of filling, as others suggested. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOOKEC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
The cake was OK, but not really that impressive. I didn't think the icing had much flavor, and it just seemed greasy to me. Overall, I thought it just tasted like any old chocolate cake. The people I served it too seemed to enjoy it, but I don't think they were crazy about it either. It did look very nice though, as I covered it in chocolate curls that I made from one of those oversized special dark bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Torte

This chocolate torte melts in your mouth and is perfect with a glass of milk!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States