Chocolate Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This tasted so wonderful therefore worth the effort to make. Lots of steps but for the right person(s) it worth it. I didn't change a thing. Next time I will even out my layers better and be more consistent with how much I put between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
the cake part is perfect, the frosting not so much and the middle part is only whipped cream...but worth making...5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
i think this cake was pretty good.. except i had to make it a two layer, and the filling wasnt visible, maybe i didnt let the cake cool long enough when i took it out. i do know i will be making this again, because it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msmeka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
A couple of issues. First and foremost, It's not a torte, it's a cake. I did not realize that a torte is made with *much* less flour to get that fluffy, almost mousse like quality, after being disappointing with the cake turn out of this (I just dislike the texture of cake, it's like chewing on a sponge), I looked up the difference, but that was disappointing. It's not a torte, it's a cake. Really you could have done the same thing with a box from the store. Secondly, the icing is WAY too sweet. I mean, i get that people like rich, but it doesn't even taste like chocolate icing, it just happens to be brown. I can definitely see why some would like this, don't get me wrong. But I wish there was more of a warning about just how incredibly rich and sweet this is, and how it is in no way, what-so-ever a torte.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustin G.
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Made this for a party. It was a big hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by for the love of CHOCOLAT...

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this recipe twice, following it exactly. I have to say that the CAKE part of this torte is really yummy. But the filling and frosting I did not care for AT ALL. Nor did my family. That is why I give this two stars. The filling is just whipped cream and kinda blah, and the frosting was sickeningly sweet and just too much. Like I said, I gave this tow chances, and that is my feeling. I really think this cake would be better with a ganache or buttercream frosting. Also, if you are going to make the filling, you will definitely need to double it to fill a double or triple layer cake. I also saw that many people complained about the layers sliding and cake falling apart when they tried to put the filling on. I wonder if they left the cake layers rounded and tried to stack them. You will definitely need to use a cake leveler or a serrated knife to cut off the rounded tops before stacking this cake. This is a good rule for stacking cakes in general but especially recipes like this that call for whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Made this last night and everyone loved it! I will make more of the filling next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
A few things that I never do are bake, follow recipes exactly and eat chocolate cake. I did all 3 today and wow, this is the best cake I've ever made and as far as I can recall, the best I've ever eaten. Excellent recipe. Will definitely be doing this one again exactly as it says to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Yumm, this was delicious. A bit hard to work with because layers kept sliding off eachother. Make sure to refrigerate cake layers well before filling. I did overnight. Also, I make my topping in microwave, which makes it so much faster to cool down. The whole family loved it! I would suggest to take it out of the fridge 15-20 minutes before serving to let it come to room temp. It is so much more delicious that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Excellent cake. Instead of 2 cups of boiling water I used 1 cup of boiling water and 1 cup of fresh brewed coffee, it gave it a little more dimension. Made this for my mother-in-law's birthday and everyone raved about it. What a fantastic recipe, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States