Chocolate Toffee Crunch Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
I took this dessert to a BBQ and everyone raved about it! After reading the reviews, I doubled the toffee layer, but it is a little gritty. Maybe I didn't boil it long enough? (20 seconds, should have gone one minute) Or it needed to bake longer? I added 1/2 cup of butter to the crust, which was perfect. I'll keep trying because the taste was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Oops! Help! I loved these last time I made them. But, this time, I could not get the butter and brown sugar to "melt." It stayed gritty. I had water boiling for pasta on the stove and it was a very hot day. Could that have anything to do with it? I cooked the mix for longer than 1 min, but it started to scorch and still wasn't melty. They were still delicious, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I love chocolate and toffee... great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coon Valley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I had a pre-made graham pie crust and this was the fastest and easiest desert I have ever made! It was a HUGE hit with my boys and his friends. Saving for Christmas recipes. Perfect for a cookie exchange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
DELISH!!!!! my whole family loved this.It dissapeared almost as soon as it was set out. Def. a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
These are excellent and fairly easy to make. The next time I make them I would double the crust & double the toffee. Then again, if you make it thin it is less fattening! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I love toffee and this recipe is easy to put together. It tastes really good, too. It's hard to go wrong with that much butter. But it takes at least 20 minutes in the freezer to get the crust and chocolate to harden up enough to be able to dish it out of the pan. And finding room in my freezer for a whole pan of bars is no small task.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Granite Falls, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I used whole graham crackers for the crust, and poured the toffee over that, and then followed the directions of the original recipe. It is even quicker to do it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I found this recipe was far too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Yum! I'm almost finished with my Easter cookie platters, and at the last second, I decided I needed to add more chocolate and a bar cookie, and this filled both requirements! Since I was making them for the first time, I decided to stick to the original recipe, with the exception of the chocolate- I added a whole bag of those. I didn't have any trouble with the toffee as some other reviewers said, and in fact I think I boiled it a bit longer than one minute and it came out great. Next time I will add more toffee! Thanks for the recipe ladies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States