Chocolate Toffee Crunch Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Tasty recipe, but judging the recipe as it's written it doesn't deserve 5 stars. I followed the recipe exactly the first time, and although the bars were good, half of the crumb mixture was left as crumbs in the pan. Will add more butter to the crust next time, as suggested. And, I will double the toffee as suggested by other reviewers because it was a little skimpy. I will also cut them before completely cool so they don't break (which they did). That said, the bars were good enough to give the revised recipe another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Bice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made these 12/11 for a Holiday work party on the 14th because there were so many different reviews, I wanted to make sure these would be good. They are FANTASTIC! I lined my 9x13" baking pan with parchment paper. I also used 1/2 cup butter with the graham cracker crumbs and 1/4 cup brown sugar. When pressing the crust mixture out, I was afraid it would be too dry and thin, but it worked well. Baked at 350 for 9 minutes, and it was perfect. Doubled the toffee ingredients, and let boil about 30 seconds (this seemed to be a major problem with folks). Added a touch of vanilla after taking the toffee off heat. Spreading the toffee was no problem; baked 10 minutes. Covered the top with 2 cups chocolate chips and put back into the oven for 1 minute. I had some concern when some of the chips sank into the toffee, but for the most part they spread beautifully. Topped with toasted sliced almonds and let cool. To remove, I just grasped the edges of the paper and it lifted right out. I cut into bars, then lifted the paper back into the baking pan, covered it with plastic and put in the refrigerator. Of course, I had to have a sample ;-) - just like an Almond Roca! I will definitely make these again, and I think I'll try using Ritz crackers, as salted caramel seems to be so big these days. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
These were so easy to make and everyone loved them! It took a while for the toffee to boil for me with constant stirring, but I let it go for about 45 seconds once it started. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I felt there were too many cracker crumbs making the crust unnecessarily thick. The brown sugar and butter only need a few seconds of stirring and then remove from heat. If you cook for a minute as the recipe says, the butter will burn. When I poured this 1/2 cup mixture onto the cracker crust, I had to push it with a spoon to barely get it to reach the edges, and felt it was too thin. I made this recipe before I read the reviews. Then checked the reviews and discovered others had run into the same problems. I don't think I'll be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
These bars were delicious! I will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These are great! Like little candy bars. I was scared to let them cool in the pan before cutting so I gave myself some insurance. The only thing I did differently was cutting them in the pan when they were only half cooled, loosening the sides, removing a slim row from one short side of the pan so I would have an easy place to slip a spatula under the bars (and steal a taste ;-) ) and putting them in the fridge to finish firming up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Delicious and easy! I doubled the toffee and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
just made this ,this morning, husband came in and ate a 1/4 of it, but he loves anything made with graham crackers. he loved it. didn't change a thing, and i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I sooo wanted this to work but the graham cracker crust broke up and crumbled badly. MY husband ate a bowl full that didn't stick to the crunch bars. I had to freeze them to get them to stay together. I followed the directions, but doubled the toffee mixture. Maybe tomorrow I will be more impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Holy toffee! Never have to buy this again! I only made half the recipe but kept the amount of toffee the same as the original recipe and used chopped almonds instead of walnuts. They look professional and taste great! I will be boxing these up for the holidays along with my other bars to give away :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States