Chocolate Toffee Crunch Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I made this and doubled the amount of toffee and it was AMAZING. My family doesn't like nuts so I sprinkled little bits of heath bar over the chocolate. I let it boil for a whole minute and it did not burn at all. THANKS for this recipe, it's my new Favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
WOW! I wish I could give this more than five stars. I was home alone when I tasted the result, and I exclaimed "Oh my gosh!" out loud. These were so good, and easy! I love brown sugar and toffee so the taste was perfect for me. Next time, I may double the toffee layer just to give it a bigger toffee taste. The toffee sort of sinks into the crust when you bake it the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
ok like some of the others i changed the recipe up a bit. first i changed the crust to 1 2/3 cups graham cracker crumbs, 1/3 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup butter. for the toffee layer, i doubled the recipe and added a bit of vanilla. before i baked the crust i sprinkled on a thin layer of cocoa/powdered sugar to add a bit more chocolate taste. and like another reviewer, i cut the bars before completely cooled to make it easier and to keep them from falling apart. these are great right away or days later(assuming they last that long!) definitely a great recipe to have when you need to take something to a gathering, or just need a bit of a pick-me-up! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shady Point, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Very good. I omitted the walnuts and there was still plenty of crunch. The graham cracker base was a bit crumbly, and next time I will add a bit more butter to ensure that it is solid. I also would consider doubling the amount of butter/sugar filling to add more toffee flavour. the recipe was great without these additions, but it is also one that will be fun to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieDB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bornholm, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Good flavor, next time I will try doubling the toffee layer as others have said, but was a bit disappointed that it sunk into the crust. The crust was also way too crumbly and dry, does need more butter or less graham crumbs. Used Skor bits on top instead of nuts. Found the 1 cup of chocolate to be a good proportion, and spread nicely. But good to fix a sweet craving without a lot of hassle. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Yummy. I used 1/2 cup butter as some had suggested and also used only 1 1/2 cups of graham crackers. Great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
These tasty treats are a favorite of my Daughter-in-law and have become a holiday tradition in our family. I always use 1/2 cup of butter in the crust but this year I forgot and only used 1/3 cup... OOPS! Be sure to really press the crust into the pan quite firmly and make them a day ahead of time, they'll set up and cut better. These don't always cut into perfect bars, there is always a bit of crumbling but hey they are homemade... and homemade always taste the best. If you want something that looks bakery made... I suggest you go to the bakery...LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Yummy! Easy! Deliciouso!!! I followed the recipe, the only thing I did different was to put toffee pieces on top instead of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Arcade, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I followed the recipe as stated with excellent results. I used 11 graham cracker "sheets" to make 2 cups of crumbs. I was expecting the bars to be thicker; maybe next time I will use a 9x9 pan. I might also try doubling the toffee sauce as others suggested. Thanks for the recipe, Pamela and Victoria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
These bars were easy to make and delicious! I was going to double the toffee part as others suggested, and I actually forgot to. They still tasted great! I did follow others' advice and removed the toffee from the heat as soon as it came to a boil instead of boiling for a whole minute. We'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States