Chocolate Toffee Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I made the recipe as written and though the cookies look nice they simply taste sweet. No intense toffee, almond or chocolate flavor and this was with using my premier Scharffen Berger unsweetened cocoa powder. I will salvage these with a bittersweet ganache, to balance the sweetness, and turn them into sandwich cookies. Thanks, Stephanie, for sharing. I'm glad others liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
These weren't the prettiest cookies I've ever made (they kind of look like flattened out mud pies) but man, they sure are good! Very chocolatey, thin and crispy, almost like a brownie/toffee cookie brittle only not quite that crunchy. I like my cookies a little thicker, so I'd like to play around with different cookie sheets or maybe lose the parchment paper I used this time. It all really does make a difference! I used Heath Bits and chopped pecans which both truly make this cookie special. Just a suggestion, but save your precious rum for another use as you can't taste it at all anyway - and no need to double up on the vanilla as I noticed some reviewers have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
If you love chocolate, you'll definitely like these cookies! I didn't have rum, so I used extra vanilla. Like another reviewer mentioned, I bake them a shorter amount of time because the cookies looked like they might otherwise have been a little too crispy for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Knightdale, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Just made a double recipe for a birthday at work. The report was that Penelope 'loved all things chocolate', so I searched "chocolate cookies" on this site and this recipe came up as the most highly-rated. For good reason - the 60+ cookies are nearly gone and I've had a dozen people stop by my desk to tell me how delicious they are. Make them! No issues to report, took a little longer in my oven but it's gas. Didn't have rum or Kahlua, just double dosed on vanilla. Used a mix of white and coconut sugar (running low on the former) and a mix of regular and whole wheat flour (same deal) and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This cookie was great. I used kahlua instead of rum but otherwise left everything the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
These are really delicious. I used pecans as well. I love the crispy outside, and soft centers. My new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Excellent cookie! Love the Toffee Bits! I made these exactly as written except I left out the almonds due to nut allergies. They baked perfectly at 11 min. Thanks for sharing this great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Mia Poulsen
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Fine cookie, easy to make with kids :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia Poulsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Very good recipe! I am not a fan of hard, crispy cookies, so I added an egg to bring the total to 2 and that achieved a better, chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dejastew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
To Die For! These have excellent crisp outside, chewy brownie style middle. Toffee chips & pecans put them over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States